a Valentine play on words

Standard

I love Valentine’s Day, my daughter loves Valentine’s Day and I’m sure that someday Samantha my sweet granddaughter will love it too.   We got to decorate boxes every year at Jefferson Elementary School…I know that we didn’t have parties, but only had a break in the action when we passed out cards to all our friends.  I always agonized at home over who should get what card in my class.  My sister and I compared and re-read all our cards when we got home from school and then we would tuck them away in our boxes, storing them deep in the closet to revisit every once in a while.  Every year, my sister got a card from Craig, he was always in her class and every year he would make each member of their class  the same Valentine.  There was no agonizing for Craig.  He cut a heart, put two slits in the card and wrote, “I chews you for my Valentine”.  He stuck a stick of Double-Mint gum through the heart and made it look like an arrow. It was so clever!  He must of loved the play on words, because he did it over and over…I was always a little jealous of those cards. I wonder if he still does it- for his wife and their kids…over and over- a funny little Valentine tradition!  Today I tabled the intervention (shhhh), I’m not sure if that is okay and we talked word work- ‘chews and choose’.  We talked about why Craig’s card was funny.  I’m not sure if they really got why it’s funny- but I do know this.  Second grade boys need to know how to cut out a heart and they definitely need to know how to make a special card for a special person in their life. Valentines- the perfect, reading and writing, thinking and loving holiday that we’ve got.

PS  Oh, and the gum… oh how they loved the gum !

About ...never ending story

lifelong teacher who is semi-retired (does this sound better?) who loves God, family and laughing... who hates social injustice... who wants to write every day... who needs to exercise every day... who blog hops... who wants to live her everyday life led by her savior, Jesus Christ!

2 responses »

  1. LOVE you! Love Valentine’s! I loved making Valentine Mailboxes and cards with you at home! Thank you for always giving me a little Valentine happy every year! MISS and LOVE you tons!

Leave a Reply

