for Puff

Standard

Today I was working with a bunch of my teacher friends, trying to solve this interesting problem.  Our students now equate their reading speed to their ‘arrival’ as a reader’.  Are you following?  For example we line them up every week, a timer in our hand and say ‘when I say begin- put your finger on the first word and begin reading- our final reminder… and be sure to do your best reading’. I say begin…off to the races-  they are a jackrabbit trying for that illusive carrot or a racecar driver at Indy.  They are zooming along at warp speed  and I might add, in their loudest voice possible.  I arch my head, stare at the ceiling almost turn around in my chair because I’m so dizzy hearing the spinning wheels and staccato pitch of their screaming tires over this paper pavement.  I want to laugh, I want to cry also.  Sometimes I might ask after the ordeal,

“Did you enjoy that passage, uh story?, uh- what was it all about?”

“Well, I don’t know- I was reading really fast.”

“That’s it exactly…I say…you were really reading kinda  fast.”

hmmm comprehension– understanding- hmmm  are we arriving at our destination?

Stay tuned:  tomorrow- going low….to get high!

About ...never ending story

lifelong teacher who is semi-retired (does this sound better?) who loves God, family and laughing... who hates social injustice... who wants to write every day... who needs to exercise every day... who blog hops... who wants to live her everyday life led by her savior, Jesus Christ!

Leave a Reply

