lawn mowers and snow blowers

Standard

 My husband retired after being a career teacher and  at our local high school in ’11.   Loved, loved his job but felt ready for this new journey of life after schools.  Every day he is discovering that volunteering can bring joy…that ferociously cleaning, painting and cleaning out storage rooms can bring some type of satisfaction….but nothing can satisfy Dave as much as a good mow and a good snow blow. 

Last season while he was still working ‘outside’ the home we had this blow out snow storm.  Our baby snow blower just couldn’t hack it.  Our neighbors had to come and bale out my poor, almost retired husband.  Our little blower just had seen its day.    Dave  used to be the guy in the neighborhood baling out our more senior neighbors.  Now our neighbors…sporting sparkling mega  blowers were coming down the street.  Are snowblowers a sign of manhood verility?  It was a difficult situation indeed. 

Fast forward to the fall of this year.  I arrived home, to see this mega blower in my garage.  It had blades and grinders.  Dave smiled and said, “I hear we are going to have the roughest winter ever recorded.”  I smiled, “We better have one for the price of that ‘chopper’ !”  It has snowed twice this winter…once when Dave was visiting our son in Denver and once last week, when he was visiting our daughter in Costa Rica. 

I had to shovel.  He conveniently forgot to teach me how to turn it on…. Hmmm…snip, snap, snout…this tale is told out.

About ...never ending story

lifelong teacher who is semi-retired (does this sound better?) who loves God, family and laughing... who hates social injustice... who wants to write every day... who needs to exercise every day... who blog hops... who wants to live her everyday life led by her savior, Jesus Christ!

5 responses »

  1. Absolutely funny! My husband also bought a snow blower and the only snow we had was two weeks ago and it was only a few inches. But he did break it out, it was my slice last week.

  2. I was just about to comment on your post. I was taken in by the title. Clever! What made me change directions was when I read what you said about yourself. I am nearing the end of this chapter of my teaching journey, too. It struck me when you wrote “…who wants to finish her career with the passion she started out with!” Here is the power of writing. That spoke to me and I want to read more.

  3. Ah – I feel your shoveling pain! I’m the main snow remover in the family and my tiny electric blower just didn’t do it during last year’s storm as well. Too funny that your hubby “forgot” to teach you how to use it. 🙂
    Thanks for a great slice!
    Chris

  4. Well, I think it would be a funny story if I hadn’t been doing lots of shoveling this year. I believe it’s called the height of irony, right? I want to thank you for stopping by my blog & noticing that there are Grandmas here. There are more than one! It’s nice we have a Denver connection! Welcome to the slicing group!

  5. We can reduce a damage problem to take proper care of our power tools like as snow blowers, backpack leaf blowers etc. we need to maintain its attached parts and time par time we need to give service to power tools for its long life.

Leave a Reply

