when I started to fall in love

Standard

Dave is coming home tomorrow night, fourteen days and three snow storms later.  I have missed him. Day one and two I felt light as a feather when he was gone.  I could mess up the car (five coffee cups at least), mess up the house, stay as late as I felt like at school.  But….all the rest of the days I missed his intermittent snore, you, the ‘cleaning wonder’…the organized one.  Would I ever be able to manage my life with out you?  We have never been apart this long…not since we met a gazillion years ago.  We grew up together, laughing and crying along the way.

I remember us walking together on campus in front of married housing.  I don’t remember if we were ‘in love’ yet or not.  Well, let’s be truthful, you were, and always knew, and it took me approximately two years and five months to really figure it out….okay…back to the story.

We walked by a married apartment.  I saw some kids playing inside…not a big deal…but suddenly you turned to me and said,

“I want some of those someday.”

I gulped, oh no, this is a little early in this ‘going out’ phase to be having this kind of chatter.  I must have uttered some kind of response like, “Yeah…some day, a long day away- I want only two.”

Responding indignantly he said, “Only two??? You can’t just put two fish in an aquarium that big.”

What in the heck is he talking about…I glanced back at the picture window on the apartment.  Sure enough there was a mega aquarium with neon blue fish swimming, oh, and there were also only two children giggling and playing on the couch.

Dave and I always see through a different camera lens- but are usually able to come to consensus.

xo I’ll see you at O’Hare at 6:10 tomorrow night – can’t wait !

About ...never ending story

lifelong teacher who is semi-retired (does this sound better?) who loves God, family and laughing... who hates social injustice... who wants to write every day... who needs to exercise every day... who blog hops... who wants to live her everyday life led by her savior, Jesus Christ!

5 responses »

  1. Can you hear me laughing? Only 2? That’s funny! What a love story you have written here! I totally get the beginning, freedom, but then the missing happens. Like I said, a love story. Beautiful!

  2. Once again, you have me laughing! I love the humor that you inject into your stories. The idea of seeing life through different camera lenses is great. Enjoy the homecoming!!

  3. Thanks for the chuckle, I too understand the first two days and then thinking, ok, enough of this! I always feel this way when my husband goes on his golf trips!! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

