why I need to wear my glasses

Standard

I’ve been ‘far sighted’ most of my life… I’ve worn glasses from the age of three.  They had absolutely defined my life until late adolescence.  When I was eighteen I was craving contact lenses before college.  My Dr. surprised me and said, “Why would you need contacts for being ‘far sighted? You can take off your glasses whenever you would like because your distance vision is excellent.”

“Really?”  My glasses felt like they had been attached since birth.  I had such a love-hate relationship with them.  So I went off to college, reinventing myself and becoming this person that didn’t wear glasses except to read and write.  People at my college didn’t even know the former person with the blue, then brown, then wire- rimmed former me.  And I was happy about that.

Well, as the years went on it continued that way, I only felt like I needed my glasses when I read…..until….. you guessed it that life change that occurs that only close girl friends talk about- the place that I am right now; the big M.  My family loves to tell this story. It happened on the way up to Michigan just last spring.  I’ll just put it this way….I’m now considered ‘near sighted’ by my family.

Dave was driving that was first clue. I don’t like driving in the dark because lights are fuzzy and I think I might hit a deer.  We were stopping at a gas station just inside of Holland and I said that I needed to use the rest room.  I got side tracked by the candy aisle.  I found the red licorice, because I had just heard that it was a candy that was good to eat when you are trying to lose weight and I am always trying.  I looked up to see where the rest room was.  This guy must have seen my eyes peering one way and then the next and he pointed to the left….Ahhhh, that was super nice of that guy to point the restroom out, I thought.

So I had my break, paid for the licorice and went back to the car.  I exclaimed to Dave, “I love Holland, the people up here are so nice….this really nice Holland guy actually pointed out the rest room to me because I couldn’t see it.”

….pause….sigh…..

“Uh, Nanc, you really need to wear your glasses….because….that really nice guy???? That was me…your husband of 34 years.”  Yep, you’ve guessed it….yet another round of hysterical laughter in our lives together.

Snip, snap, snout another Hatcher tale told out!

About ...never ending story

lifelong teacher who is semi-retired (does this sound better?) who loves God, family and laughing... who hates social injustice... who wants to write every day... who needs to exercise every day... who blog hops... who wants to live her everyday life led by her savior, Jesus Christ!

7 responses »

  1. HAHAHAHA! I am truly laughing out loud. It was already a funny story… and then it was your husband! HILARIOUS! Thanks so much for sharing this embarrassing moment! 🙂

  2. Laughing out loud in my office! Your storytelling timing is perfect. You give just enough information to hook me, then end with a great ending. Well told!

  3. So funny! It’s so hard to admit that we are changing. I am now in bifocal contacts, so no one really knows that I am both near and far-sighted. This kind of story becomes family lore.

  4. So funny! I have had similar problems…I was near-sighted until I had my first child. I was so shocked when the optometrist told me I was far-sighted. Moved into bifocals about ten years ago. Trifocals are the next move so that I can see the computer. So glad you have a sense of humor to share with your family!

Leave a Reply

