a new take on my intervention

Standard

Sometimes in doing my reading intervention I just have to sometimes be on a covert mission.  Yes, I must adhere to the guidelines of what to do first, second and third. And yes, I do need to get one book a day done.  But how can I not take a pause with ‘the boys’ to enjoy these facts coming at them at this fast and furious pace? And how can I not breathe in the freshness of an early morning on the walking path that curves around our school building.

I know…you’re thinking…but what does this have to do with our book Elephants or even our book on the Redwoods?

“Does she have integrity to her intervention???” everyone might ask.

I do declare, “Reading and writing is the art of observation- the ability to notice”.  I guess that is my justifying quote, which I just made up in my mind, as I quick-stepped to the door to outside with the boys.

“I say to the group, you may have noticed, the curves in our letters mimic our walking path that we take.” I say in my head.  And then we all start to argue (with supporting facts of course) if whether the track that was pushing up in the spring goo, was made by a dog or a raccoon.    One of my natural text to world connectors says, “If we were in Africa it could be an elephant’s giant pad”.

“Can we visualize our school building ten stories high?” I say.  Everyone peers upward,

“That’s how high a Redwood can grow, exclaims a joyful  second grader, and I learned it in a book!”

Ahh, I smile in pleasure…I love this very on target… tangent… we took this morning… on our walk…in the dewy freshness… on the path around our school. Personally, I think Fountas and Pinnell would smiling too.

About Judson RISE professor

lifelong teacher who is semi-retired (does this sound better?) who loves God, family and laughing... who hates social injustice... who wants to write every day... who needs to exercise every day... who blog hops... who wants to live her everyday life led by her savior, Jesus Christ!

4 responses »

  1. Real world application, that’s what you are doing on that path. We need to give kids time to “get it,” when we do, they grow. Thanks for the look into your lesson today.

Leave a Reply

