…talismans…

Standard

A talisman is something that is worn that creates an emotional response to the wearer. Is is a superstition…to some, I suspect, but I have five pieces of jewelry that I wear daily for very specific reasons.

I have worn my Petosky stone necklace from the day my mother gave it to me after my great Aunt Emeline died.  She was my mom’s fun loving aunt who continued her whole life to live and teach school in a small town on the shores of Lake Michigan.  I love, love touching my smooth stone daily as I teach.  My great aunt was my inspiration to teach.  She would send her old ‘basal’ readers when her district would choose new books.  We had three old school desks lined up in our basement to ‘play’ school on rainy days with my friends and little sisters.

My ring that I wear on my right hand was my Grandma Nelson’s wedding ring.  I was her first granddaughter and she loved me, oh, how she loved me.  I think everyone in this world deserves to be a favorite of someone in this life and I admit it, I was my grandma’s girl.  When I look at my hand wearing her simple ring I remember her strong hands loving me, sleeping with me on Christmas Eve, trying to get the knots out of my little girl necklaces so I could wear them again.

I wear two cuffs on my left wrist.  Our son let us drive his jeep to the Grand Canyon while he was working there five years ago.  My first cuff, purchased there, was a reminder of that great vacation- traveling and doing the off -road jeep thing in the southern parks of Utah.  Dave and I  jumped streams and were riding where two fifty something people should dare not go.  When we finally made it to the safety of the Grand Canyon I felt that I deserved a special silver reminder of how ‘adventure’ is important to me.  The second cuff, recently went on my wrist.  Dave bought it for me in Costa Rica on his recent trip to visit our daughter and her family.  I absolutely love it!  It looks like two rope strands woven together in a braid.  Braids are strong and it reflects our love every time I catch a glimpse.

Dave surprised me with a new wedding ring five years ago.   It has the mini diamond stone from my first ring that was purchased 35 years ago.  He added four more stones and designed the ring to withstand the storms of our lives.  The five stones represent our whole family linked together forever.

I love wearing these gifts of love, seeing these gifts of love, every day single day.

About Judson RISE professor

lifelong teacher who is semi-retired (does this sound better?) who loves God, family and laughing... who hates social injustice... who wants to write every day... who needs to exercise every day... who blog hops... who wants to live her everyday life led by her savior, Jesus Christ!

4 responses »

  1. I love the back story of each piece of jewelry! Your words of love give me goosebumps as I read them. You are truly surrounded by love.
    Side note: I am the oldest granddaughter of my Grandma Nelson. How weird is that? Just reading the words Grandma Nelson gave me a start.

  2. I love this piece! I love jewlery. About six years ago, I had lost weight and I didn’t wear my rings (from my grandmother and great aunt) and we were robbed. I’m glad you wear your same treasures everyday, because they can never be replaced.

Leave a Reply

