having contingency plans…

Standard


I should have planned for this, I know.  But there is something in me that doesn’t love a flu shot, but now, I wish I had prepared for this…the aches, the chills, the pounding head and the run to washroom.

Last week, talking to my daughter on Skype, I moaned silently when she told me about the stomach virus that she was experiencing.  I wanted to crawl through the monitor and comfort my sweet girl – new mother- new missionary in training.  There is something that wells up when my children are  sick.  I hear it in her voice as she says, “I need a hug from you, mom.”  I told her the facts, that she would feel measurably better in about twenty-four hours.  I told her…I’m hugging you.  I silently breathed a prayer for her, that she can feel God’s arms of comfort.  There will be many days like this for me…a lump in my throat and watery eyes ready to overflow.

Right now, I just want my own mom.  I want to call her and feel her arms embrace.  Things between a ‘mom and her girl’…I know it is true, they just never change.

About ...never ending story

lifelong teacher who is semi-retired (does this sound better?) who loves God, family and laughing... who hates social injustice... who wants to write every day... who needs to exercise every day... who blog hops... who wants to live her everyday life led by her savior, Jesus Christ!

3 responses »

  1. When you don’t feel well the best thing for you is mom. I have experienced that feeling of wanting to be transported immediately to the scene of suffering. What a sweet photo!

  2. So true – I am missing my mom these days as she grows away from me, pulled into the haze of Alzheimer’s – but I cling to those times when she pulled me up with her mom-love

Leave a Reply

