Literacy in Motion

Standard

Okay, I admit it…and some of you know it, I went to Judson University…when it wasn’t on the map, I went when it wasn’t even accredited yet, I  went when we got a dual certificate in education with another institution, I went when it was more like a summer camp than a university.  But did I ever blog about how I loved summer camp?  I loved Judson.  One thing that has never changed, however, is the strength of the education department.  But now, 36 years later, Dr. Layne  has literally put Judson on the map of the United States of America.

Dr. Layne, also a graduate (let’s just say at least…about a decade after me) and  is a writer of YA novels, fabulous picture books….and now has a professional book that you do not want to miss-  Ignighting a Passion for Reading.  Steve has developed a strong Master in Literacy program and is in the final rounds of creating Judson’s first Doctoral program in literacy.  The strength of our program, however,  are the teachers themselves and the community that is developed between the faculty and students.  I can’t say enough about these fabulous students that we have had the last five years…many of whom have published in nationally recognized professional journals.  It is not a program for the faint of heart.  It is a program for the – shall I say it? the ‘slicer type’.

Literacy in Motion is our yearly conference and this year Ruth Ayres will be one of the featured speakers…how exciting is that? Those of you participating in the ‘slice’ challenge could even have the opportunity to be in the same room with her, wow.  That would be quite an opportunity and how great would it be if we could meet more ‘slicers’!!!!

Of course…CPDU’s are given 🙂

Here’s the conference link:  Literacy in Motion

Snip, snap…this one is a shout out!

About Judson RISE professor

lifelong teacher who is semi-retired (does this sound better?) who loves God, family and laughing... who hates social injustice... who wants to write every day... who needs to exercise every day... who blog hops... who wants to live her everyday life led by her savior, Jesus Christ!

4 responses »

  1. Wow! That looks to be a great conference! I see Maria Walther is also presenting. I’ve seen her at past IRA conferences and she is not good for my wallet, but I enjoy her immensely. Lucky you to attend and hear Ruth’s voice, not just read her words.

  2. Someone else mentioned Judson, so I was glad your post gave us a link! I looked at the brochure – Ruth Ayres, Joan Bauer (one of my favorite authors), and Ruth Culham! And with a strand to focus on 4-8 readers and writers! And then I saw the date. My son’s wedding is during the conference! Oh well, I can always plan for next year. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

