still running after 9 hours

Standard

When I blow dry my hair, sitting by the wall in my bedroom I can easily think about my next presentation.  It’s almost like magic…it just flows as the heat from comes out.  The flow sometimes continues on in the car with the beat of the music from my car’s radio (country works best).  I drive a short distance to my building, get out of the car, still thinking, thinking until I get to my computer and add my finishing touch.  It is my routine…and I love it.

My family has always reminded me about that zone of ‘thinking my own thoughts’ can be kind of dangerous.  For instance, I never see or hear my friends and family when I get to the idea phase.  I’m almost possessed or trance like.  I know you might laugh, but its accurate in my case.

One day I was presenting all day up in the computer lab to all the different grade level groups…tricky because I needed to modify bits between grade levels.  At the end of the day I felt pleased by my energy and the energy of the group.  Positive reactions and laughter always energize me.  I was throughly pleased with myself about how well my early morning brainstorming session had paid off .

At the end of the day, I walked out the door, heard some loud country music.  “I wonder where that is coming from?” I thought.  I looked at the back-end of my car.  Smoke was coming out my tail pipe in the cool afternoon air.  “Oh my gosh, someone is in my car….I looked in my driver’s seat, no human was sitting there.  I walked over.  I opened the door … Carrie was singing Jesus take the wheel.  It was toasty warm inside.  I looked left, I looked right…had anyone noticed that I had left my keys in my car and country radio had played for nearly nine hours that day?

“I wonder if I have any gas?”  I looked down and it had just used a miniscule amount. I always had always wondered if a person has to press the accelerator to expend gas.  Now I knew…but I couldn’t tell anyone because of the fact they would remind me of this day…for eternity…the day I was thinking my own thoughts and left the car singing all day.

About Judson RISE professor

lifelong teacher who is semi-retired (does this sound better?) who loves God, family and laughing... who hates social injustice... who wants to write every day... who needs to exercise every day... who blog hops... who wants to live her everyday life led by her savior, Jesus Christ!

5 responses »

  1. Oh my gosh! This sounds so much like me it’s scary! I’m glad to hear someone else does this kind of stuff because it drives my boys, especially my linear sequential second son, absolutely CRAZY! And then I wonder what’s wrong with me…

  2. You are so lucky your car was still there. Not too observant coworkers, they didn’t notice the running car and report it to you? That’s pretty funny!

  3. The closest I have come is that I often turn my engine off before putting my car into Park. Hate when that happens! 🙂 However, the first 98% of your post I related to in a scary fashion. The brainstorming, the hair drying, the music, and the energy are pieces to my presenting mode that I had never really connected before. Thanks for bringing words to my routines!

  4. Oh my goodness, I can’t believe that it was okay. I guess cars are tougher than we ever realized. You are truly ‘in the zone’ I guess when concentrating. It’s awesome concentration, but… (I won’t tell if you won’t!)

Leave a Reply

