‘fly away home’

Standard

Tomorrow I will fly away home,

but you will be there sifting,

trying to find a cup for a 50 cent refill,

packing up as the orange vested pumpkin man sweeps

you off,  in the misty grey morning.

I will be in the jet sipping my Starbucks as

you wander those morning streets looking for

a friendly face and some change before the

pumpkin man says,

“Move on out

we can’t have you beg for change in our streets,

in the Gas Lamp area.

Fly away home, to your place in the park

where the tourists won’t see your pain,

your weathered look, or your illness

go on now.

Fly away home where no one

will see, notice or realize that you are

human.”

Fly Away Home written by Eve Bunting is a picture book that never fails to move me. It is a story about a dad and his little boy who live in an airport because of a loss of their home.  On vacation, we were saddened by the amount of homeless people on the streets of San Diego.  Because of its fantastic climate this is where many people without shelter are making their home.  At night patrol men move them to local parks to sleep instead of in the shelter of the buildings in town.

PS I am home today after a wonderful and very relaxing vacation in a beautiful city…but I am left with this lingering thought…help me, oh God to continue to help people in need.

PSS I will check in on this occasionally because I don’t want to lose this community…so I want to continue to ‘slice’ on Tuesdays.  Once again, thanks for organizing this Ruth and Stacey!

 

About ...never ending story

lifelong teacher who is semi-retired (does this sound better?) who loves God, family and laughing... who hates social injustice... who wants to write every day... who needs to exercise every day... who blog hops... who wants to live her everyday life led by her savior, Jesus Christ!

6 responses »

  1. Gosh. What a beautiful piece of writing. You made me cry. I live in Denver, we have lots of homeless people and I’m always praying for ways to reach out.

  2. This is a very moving poem. I am disturbed by the homeless population that continues to grow, but I don’t know what to do about it.
    I hope you are ready to face the end of the year, now that you have had a vacation in a lovely place. I need a break, so one day I will get away.

  3. Fly Away Home is an excellent book – my students are always mesmerized by a family living in the airport. Such a moving poem – my daughters and I often talk about how to help those in need. Wish we could do more.

Leave a Reply

