I would follow them anywhere…

Standard

“Really Dave…I want to go where they go…Australia, Mexico, Alaska.  I want to visit them all around the world.” I said on our whale watching trip off the coast of San Diego.

It was mystical, waiting for them to appear from the deep.  The whales are plentiful at this time of the year as they migrate back to the cooler waters for the summer.  They travel in groups, protecting their young as they go.  It was a bit hard to make them out because of the chop of the Pacific.  But then we saw our first whale together.  Amazing, “There she blows…we cry in unison”.  The breathing whale takes in air through her blowhole and then breathes out like a human being.  Looking at a distance, the moisture forms a quick heart and then disappears.  I am still in awe, remembering.  I will be back…  God’s largest creature on planet earth…magnificent and inspiring !

About ...never ending story

lifelong teacher who is semi-retired (does this sound better?) who loves God, family and laughing... who hates social injustice... who wants to write every day... who needs to exercise every day... who blog hops... who wants to live her everyday life led by her savior, Jesus Christ!

9 responses »

  1. I’ve gone whale watching just once (back in ’92) & I still have fond memories of it. It’s so exciting to see them surface, get some air, & dive under water again.

  2. Oh this brought back memories of my trip to Seattle a couple summers ago…it was there we also so the whales. Magnificent is an understatement! I remember getting goose bumps the first one I saw! Thanks for the memory!

  3. I want to see the whales too! Someday I will. I know how excited I was to see dolphins off the side of a cruise ship, so I can’t even imagine what it would be like to see a whale. It’s on the bucket list, someday.
    I like that you started with dialogue, it brought me right into your world.

  4. We went whale watching 12 or 13 years ago! Now I’m thinking it’s time to do it again. It was magical and we had a great biologist on board to answer our questions and wonderings!

  5. Beautiful! I’ve had the pleasure of getting close enough to touch, outside of Boston Bay. It was awesome. Your photo is wonderful. In all the times I’ve studied whales with students, I didn’t know about the heart. How special is that!

  6. Ooh I would love to whale watching sometime! I like how you described the moisture forming a quick heart and then disappearing. It would be fun to follow the whales everywhere they go!

Leave a Reply

