‘Make it a great day’

Standard

‘Have a great day!’ is a trite expression for me.  I used  it in every intervention group I saw and used to say it always to my children before they took their short walk to the babysitter each day.  It was always my way of saying good- bye and it would cheer me if anyone ever remembered to say ‘you too mom’  back to me. 

This year my beloved friend DeWanna chided me. 

“Don’t say, “Have a great day, Nanc…say instead,  Make it a great Day.  We are always in control of our own attitudes.” 

Perspective, is what my friend DeWanna has .  She worked in our school system for many years and has technically retired to do missionary work with her husband all over the globe.  She’s done many long-term substitute jobs to help fund their trips, and  is now back to do a job at the end of our school  year.  I do miss her in big and small ways when she isn’t with us. 

Today her morning thought of the day was this….

“This is our Father’s world, Nancy,   I am right in the spot today where he wants me to be…I am so sure of it.” 

I looked at her and said, “I’m sure of it too….I’m just so glad you said that to me!”  Just when I need her, she is here;  God places her near.

Just an aside:  Since I  was a little girl I’ve loved the hymn, This is my Father’s World and it was pretty awesome to me reminded of it this morning after Easter Sunday.  When I was young, I know that I thought mostly about the beauty of our natural world.  Now it mean so much more.  It is stanza 3 that really makes me think.

This is my Father’s world. 
O let me ne’er forget
that though the wrong seems oft so strong,
God is the ruler yet. 
This is my Father’s world: 
why should my heart be sad? 
The Lord is King; let the heavens ring! 
God reigns; let the earth be glad!

Here is an artist that I love, singing it. Make it a great day, slicers !

http://www.bing.com/videos/search?q=this+is+my+father%27s+world+Fernando+Ortega&view=detail&mid=13A275B2D72F47C87BE313A275B2D72F47C87BE3&first=0&qpvt=this+is+my+father%27s+world+Fernando+Ortega

About Judson RISE professor

lifelong teacher who is semi-retired (does this sound better?) who loves God, family and laughing... who hates social injustice... who wants to write every day... who needs to exercise every day... who blog hops... who wants to live her everyday life led by her savior, Jesus Christ!

4 responses »

  1. I love that song too! I get teary as I sing it and remember the places I’ve been when I sang it. Your friend is so right, we do choose our attitude. Make it a great day says so much more. I hope the listener takes it to heart. I will make my day GREAT!

  2. Ooh, I love Fernando Ortego’s song, Give Me Jesus. Thanks for sharing his song with us. I’m listening to it right now! I like the idea of saying make it a great day.

  3. Our dear friend DeWanna gave me that same advice when she heard me speaking to one of my CICO students. I love it!! MAKE it a great end of the year Nanc…I miss you already!

Leave a Reply

