Why ‘Bootcamp’?

Standard

I’m doing Smartboard Bootcamp….again!!! Why again? I guess it is because I  sometimes don’t get things the first time around or the second and I guess ‘I’m not a spring chicken’ any longer. But really, I’m not counting that I have just two years to go.  I still want to know and still need to know… and I’m hoping so hard that I will get a Smartboard in one of the bookrooms next year.  I’m crossing my fingers and my toes that my leaders will feel there is a need for every room to be accesorized in the latest and greatest.  After all, don’t all my little poochies deserve to manipulate their word work and to circle, find and rhyme?  So I’m going to the camp tomorrow.

I hope my leader will be patient with me…so I don’t start banging the keys like I did so long ago when learning on the first Apple IIe’s something mystical called word processing.  I was a bad girl that day.  I was as lost as a kinder who doesn’t know all the sounds for ‘c’ and ‘a’ and ‘g’.  But, I will try to be good tomorrow.  It might be helpful if I write it down, what comes first, second and third.  Or it might be good to practice each morning, in the open room that has a board… my new skills.  Practice does not always make perfect, at least in my case- but practice might make me better than I was before.

I need to tape this message to my mirror in the morning, or make my computer beep at one hour intervals, “Do you want to get better at this, Nancy…then spend some time daily creating the practice habit.”

I tell my students, about the same thing just about every day.

Readers who want to read better…practice.

Writers who want to write better…practice.

I need to take my own advice.

PS Did I tell you ever that I had to take ‘behind the wheel’ twice and American Red Cross lifesaving twice and the Constitution test twice?  There are just so many things I didn’t get the first time…oh…cheerleading too and learning the 12 man dolphin in water ballet (it took me about twelve times).  Yikes….I’m feeling like I’m getting more patient with my kinders by the minute.

PSS Okay…this would be such a fun site on the smart board:

http://ettcweb.lr.k12.nj.us/forms/newpoem.htm

PSSS I found this one this morning that generates random names…pretty high tech- you won’t have to pick a popsicle ever again…http://bit.ly/IwQPhf

About ...never ending story

lifelong teacher who is semi-retired (does this sound better?) who loves God, family and laughing... who hates social injustice... who wants to write every day... who needs to exercise every day... who blog hops... who wants to live her everyday life led by her savior, Jesus Christ!

3 responses »

  1. You are so right, practice, practice. I need the continued instruction so it will build the muscle memory so I can do the task on my own. You go girl! Keep the wheels spinning and learning.

  2. Practice gives you confidence, too. Confidence that you aren’t going to break the Internet, for example. One thing that always helped me, was to remind myself that I did a task/process once, so it is possible. I just have to figure out how to do it again! And then clicking on Help also worked wonders! I wish you the best…oh, and yes, learning new things ALWAYS puts a bit more patience in your pocket for those little ones who don’t seem to get it on the first try either!

Leave a Reply

