“will I ever get up north at the cabin?” I just said it yesterday…

Standard

It couldn’t start any better than this….On the way up north to the cabin the sunshine sits in my lap all morning.  This sentence drew me in the first time I read this book over eighteen years ago.  Up North at the Cabin written by Marcia Wilson Chall is a classic in my collection, every time I pull it out to re-read I love it more and more.  Maybe it is more about my yearning for the end and the smell of summer, the joy of summer.  Maybe it’s because I miss that anticipation of those free and sticky lazy days of summer.  Maybe it’s because I remember yelling, “hit it!” the first time at my beloved camp in Wisconsin.  Maybe it’s because I can still see my dad sweating at 5 o’clock in the morning tucking three little suitcases in the loaded down Buick for a week at Silver Lake State Park.  What do you maybe miss ?  Do you remember?  Read this book aloud for the flavor and texture of summer…read it to your self, read it to your class…be prepared to get happy.

PS I’ll put it in my window in the second floor bookroom…for my bookie friends (not literally my bookie) Aleta you know what I mean.

PSS  Another good site for all!

http://thinkfinity.org/electric-company

About ...never ending story

lifelong teacher who is semi-retired (does this sound better?) who loves God, family and laughing... who hates social injustice... who wants to write every day... who needs to exercise every day... who blog hops... who wants to live her everyday life led by her savior, Jesus Christ!

4 responses »

  1. Nancy, I love this book and read it to my class every year for text to self connections because I can still hear myself say hit it to my aunt when she taught me to waterski when I was seven. I love the end when she says she takes a picture in her mind to hold her to the next time. I do that every fall and it gets me through the Illinois winters! Can’t wait to get Up North at the Cabin!

  2. Nancy, Thanks so much for the book suggestion I am going to look into buying it this week! I am always looking for a good book to take down to Lake of Egypt with me. Last year it was the
    French Gardner, 😉

  3. I LOVE this book! I have used it to teach a writing lesson on using a repeated phrase. This book does catch the essence of summers’ past for me. Another connection, this is getting weirder and weirder.

Leave a Reply

