‘when the tears roll’

Standard

My friend once said in a whispered voice, “I really have a hard time on Mother’s Day.”  I looked at her face of sorrow, of  her missing her mom.  Determined to try to sleep in, after a very long week at school, I closed my eyes and felt a tear roll and then another…this unexpected emotion when I think of tomorrow, Mother’s Day.  I think of the physical distance; I am separated from my children.  I won’t feel their arms in an embrace.  I am one of those huggers. I want just one hug. I just want one giggle.  I just want to be close to them physically and that’s not possible, not right now. I shift my thoughts to my friend who has lost her son and how she feels, right now.  She too longs for physical presence. And the tears… they continue to roll.  No,  that’s not possible , not right now.  I think about those who long to be a mom, about those who are estranged from a child….all of the heart breaks…

And then, finally, I think of my mom who always knew how to hug me at all the right moments.  Who loved and laughed my whole life through.  I will go visit you tomorrow and give thanks for your good health this season.  I will celebrate the blessing that you are home now, thankfully not in that hospital bed.  You will be sitting in the back porch, watching the news with dad and looking out at the new green grass… together.  You will hug me tight, I just know it.

And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love. I Corinthians 13:13

Happy Mother’s Day my friends…and to my mom, Lorrie Olson

xo nanc


About ...never ending story

lifelong teacher who is semi-retired (does this sound better?) who loves God, family and laughing... who hates social injustice... who wants to write every day... who needs to exercise every day... who blog hops... who wants to live her everyday life led by her savior, Jesus Christ!

3 responses »

  1. This is a beautiful piece of writing. I woke this morning with a piece in my head– a mothers’ day card for those moms who have difficult mothering situations…

  2. I was able to hug my mom last night and celebrate the gifts she has given me throughout my life, but first thing this morning my seven your old gave me the biggest hug ever and wished me a happy Mother’s Day. Several minutes later she appeared with French Toast sticks and water on a tray telling me how much I deserved breakfast in bed. Several minutes later a homemade card and flower she made at school was proudly presented as her gift to me. Later, she took me by the hand to show me she had made my bed. In each of those moments I was in awe of her gifts to me and the love she so easily gives! I am truly blessed…..

Leave a Reply

