a clean finish

Standard

My grandma taught me how to sew when people used sewing machines quite often. In the sixties she made all three of us sweet dresses to wear to school.  It even seems odd to me today that we all did wear dresses or jumpers every day of the school year.  Well, I wanted to learn from her; her clothes were the best and somehow I realized that she would have the perseverance, patience and time that my mom seemed to be in short supply of.

We started out simple, making many scarves that were simple triangles that we wore constantly back then.  She taught the angles and how to keep the needle down as I turned the corner.   We moved on to making simple jumpers where she taught me clean finish.  A clean finish involves pressing the seam open, turning the fabric under a quarter of an inch and then stitching down either side of the seam a second time.  It prevents fraying….and guess what…it was lots of work, but I learned how to sew straight and also how to do a clean finish every time.  Grandma also  always insisted that I clip the ends of the threads precisely and as close as I could get to the fabric on either side.  It is a miracle that I survived the teaching, her persnickty ways, because guess what???? I ABSOLUTELY HATE TO FINISH! I loved Grandma and I did want her to keep on teaching me, so I tried.

I love to start, I love the middle, I just hate endings. But they are so…so…important.  I want a clean finish to this school year.  I want it all wrapped up with the threads clipped.  I don’t want any frayed edges.  Having just two days left, I feel like it almost is impossible to get all the book room books inventoried, put away in a tidy fashion and lost books re-ordered.  I have to say to myself repeatedly…I think I can…I think I can.  I’m feeling her whispering in my ear these days, “Nancy, do a clean finish, I know you can do it, you can, you can.”

About ...never ending story

lifelong teacher who is semi-retired (does this sound better?) who loves God, family and laughing... who hates social injustice... who wants to write every day... who needs to exercise every day... who blog hops... who wants to live her everyday life led by her savior, Jesus Christ!

5 responses »

  1. Wow, you only have 2 days left?! I hear you about trying to get everything done for the end of the school year. I have a few weeks left and I feel like I have so much to do! Somehow things manage to get done…

  2. Today is my girls’ last day of school! I really enjoyed your post and the way that you combined a clean finish in sewing to wrapping up the teaching year. When I saw the title for today, I also thought about how it is a great post to pair up with the title of your blog in general. You are an inspiration to making sure to maintaining high quality and passion!

  3. I hate sewing! But I understand the finishing is important. Hang on you will get it done. So do you have to change the title of this blog to One Year and Finishing Strong?

  4. I love how you compared the finishing in your sewing to the finishing of your school year. I sewed for many years and I agree that finishing those seams was very tedious, as is the finishing of everything we do. You’ll finish strong and in a timely manner. Happy last two days of school.

Leave a Reply

