my bud, my boy

Standard

”I know I’m not alone, we pray for our children.  We pray the ‘Now I lay me’ prayer with them as we tuck, tuck them cozy after the book, after the third drink of water and the night-light.  Long after we’ve stopped the tucking and final hugs in those middle school years, we continue on; mother’s still lift their children up to God whenever their children come to mind.  We ask God to help them get that equation, or for them not to be shut down when they get up nerve to ask that beautiful ‘cheerleader type’ to prom.  Those prayers we all pray…over and over again.  This is my letter to my son Jeff on his graduation day.

Dear Jeff,

One of my prayers has always been this…that you learn to share and remember to always thank those who serve you.  I’ve always wanted you to have a heart for serving other people, because these are the happiest people I’ve known on this earth.  And I want you to be happy.

The moments I will never forget…

We never had another professional take a photograph of our family after you ‘Smurfed’ yourself that long ago Saturday with the blue food coloring in the upper cabinet.  The rest of us will never know how you really climbed up into those cabinets at fifteen months old.  I do get it now….it  was your first journey to the mountains and mischief.  And you’ve always loved both.

You never really babbled, but the first distinguishable sentence was singing in an ET voice,  as we passed the  Golden Arches, “I want food.”  Musical boy, I remember the day that you said to me in a very serious adolescent voice, “I will give never stop loving my bass.”  And you never have. You’ve kept that promise…I’ve prayed for that.

I remember your first job, helping to direct cars at the county fair.  Your first money, but even back then you noticed the kind older gentleman that was cleaning the men’s restroom continually that week.  He did this lowly job and you knew he probably was not paid very well.  You gave him part of the cash you made, happily. 

You’ve been blessed with marvelous opportunity, to travel the world with your music, and to visit places that are poverty-stricken.  You’ve told me that music is the universal language.  I’m telling you today, that your love that you pour out is the language that people understand.

You are a person that ‘makes new friends, but keeps the old’.  Your habits of communication and sacrifice for people are strengths indeed.  Today you will graduate with your Masters in Social Work.  May you go out and continually change the world, one life at a time, as you have changed mine.  God has given me a very precious gift, a twenty-five year hike with a boy who loves life, people and God.  

My prayers will always include you, Jeff. 

Proverbs 3:5-6  Trust in the Lord with all your heart, lean not on your own understanding.  In all your ways acknowledge him and he will make your path straight.

love mama xo

About ...never ending story

lifelong teacher who is semi-retired (does this sound better?) who loves God, family and laughing... who hates social injustice... who wants to write every day... who needs to exercise every day... who blog hops... who wants to live her everyday life led by her savior, Jesus Christ!

5 responses »

  1. What a beautiful letter! I have kept one from each of my parents that was given to me on my graduation day. I couldn’t help but get emotional as I read your letter to Jeff, thinking of my own graduation day and the sentiments my parents shared with me. God bless Jeff on his journey and God bless you on yours.

  2. Your Jeff inspired me to be more kind and loving this day. I will take his mama’s advice to share and thank those who serve me with a prayer in Jesus name. Your loving letter has ripple effects.

  3. Nanc, you have raised an incredible son. He is a tribute to the loving home. Your pride in who he is shines through. Congratulations on raising such a son!

Leave a Reply

