Costa Rica, Em, Sam and John part 1

Standard

My trip to Costa Rica was more than just new vistas.  I needed to hug my daughter, bond with my one year old grand-daughter and laugh with my amazing son-in-law.  The last six months my daughter has been crash studying at the Spanish Language Institute in preparation for the mission field in Ecuador.  As much as I want them to what God is calling them to do with their life, the process has been really hard.  It is hard to be so many miles away when you are a person who loves to hug and snuggle .  But we had our trip to look forward to…and it was quite a trip.

I had never traveled out of the states before.  My only spanish phrase is ‘silencio por favor’.  I had never experienced drivers, motorcycles and taxis that observe none of the safety rules we take for granted here in the states.  My digestive system might never be the same.  I didn’t know faucets in other countries didn’t come with hot water.  Did you know that some bugs are about two inches long? I’ve seen on the news, but now have seen people who live in shacks with only a rusty metal roof for rain protection.  I’ve never felt stared at because of my blonde hair before; now I know how uncomfortable that can feel.  I’ve never seen gates in front of houses with curling barbed wire on the top; but now I have.

On the other hand,

I have seen a volcano’s majesty as it peers out from behind the clouds. I have witnessed Samantha’s glee as she tries to touch a toucan and points to the magical hummingbird feeding off the nectar of brilliant blossoms.  I have worshiped and praised in another language, been moved, my heart softened once again in the presence of our magnificent God.

Last night we landed…

Today we begin planning and counting down to the next time we can hug our rosy haired hummingbird.

About Judson RISE professor

lifelong teacher who is semi-retired (does this sound better?) who loves God, family and laughing... who hates social injustice... who wants to write every day... who needs to exercise every day... who blog hops... who wants to live her everyday life led by her savior, Jesus Christ!

6 responses »

  1. It is very difficult to be so far away from family – especially your daughter & granddaughter. I, too, like my hugs and somehow Skype doesn’t meet that criteria. But, I am so glad that you had a wonderful trip, experienced some beauty and lots of hugs. It isn’t always easy to see how people live in other countries, but it does make us appreciate all that we have here in the States. Thanks for sharing – looking forward to Part 2.

  2. Traveling makes you appreciate the ease of our lives. What a journey you’ve had! It is heartbreaking to have family so far away. Hopefully you will be back soon.

  3. I like the way your juxtaposed the difficult things on your trip with the magnificent creations you saw and experiences you had. Hope you won’t have to wait too long to see that rosy haired hummingbird.

  4. My heart is so full, trying to write a comment that can convey how I loved reading this. It really touched me. I love that you didn’t get stuck in the culture shock (some do!)but opened your heart even more to your daughter and son-in-law’s calling and found a beautiful image from their new surroundings to connect with your granddaughter. Rosy haired hummingbird!The hugs will be sweet when you see her again! I know your daughter and son-in-law will be strengthened by your support.

  5. What a moving post that captured so much. I am glad that you were able to experience something new with your daughter and family. When you were describing what you hadn’t seen/known before, it helped take me back to my first trip to Mexico. And then there was a shift to aspects that were different than Mexico such as the toucan. It is fun to see those similarities and differences.

Leave a Reply

