my friend Bo

Standard

Do people ever say to you,

“I know someone who looks just like you !”  I’m used to hearing that especially from people who I’ve just met.

I usually respond,

“Yeah, I guess I have a rather common face because I have heard that before.”

Many, many, many years ago one of my students said,

“Miss. Olson, you look just like that commercial of that person running down the beach with your whole head braided up…you know that girl who is kind of running in slow motion?”

He was referring to that model who was deemed a perfect 10.  I forget her name, but that was the first and last time I’ve ever been compared to her.

“Vinnie Samaritano I will love you to the day I die,” I thought.

Now at 56 turning 57 I would kiss the student that would say that I look like of kind of like their mother and not their grandmother !

But I still do get that comment quite often about the ‘familiar face’.  Lately, however, I try to see if it was indeed me that they had met before.  I’ve lived in the same community for thirty-five years, gone to the same church for thirty-five years, taught and coached in eight buildings in our large school district, taught childbirth classes, YMCA classes and classes at two local universities.  Suffice it to say, ‘I’ve been around the block’ meeting people.

Last week at the mall, I was walking out of Barnes and Noble with a pile of books that I was  trying to figure out where I should hide.  I had gone in for my husband’s birthday…not mine!  As I was walking down the aisle trying to remember where I parked (this happens often lately), a small red car with two twenty somethings rolled down their window.  The blonde driver strikes up a conversation like she totally knew me.

I thought, “I better play along, because perhaps I do know her.” (see prior list for reasons why I might have)

We talked for five minutes about the summer and what they were up to.  I am a great actress I think because at the end of the conversation the blonde said, “Great to see you again, Jamie!”

I wished she had said,

“You still look like a perfect ten!”  What is it about me that I want people to think that I do know them instead of just asking,

“Hey, have we met before?”

PS I just asked my husband the name of that girl on the beach, with the braids.  It took him all of two seconds to answer, “Oh, that was Bo Derick” 🙂 she is remembered very quickly by my man of 35 summers!

About Judson RISE professor

lifelong teacher who is semi-retired (does this sound better?) who loves God, family and laughing... who hates social injustice... who wants to write every day... who needs to exercise every day... who blog hops... who wants to live her everyday life led by her savior, Jesus Christ!

9 responses »

  1. All I can say is “Me too.” I get that “you look like someone I know” all the time. It’s funny because I’ve never seen anyone that I think looks like me.
    I had to laugh at the “where will I hide the books” comment because that’s another “me too.”
    So what do you think will happen when the girl talks to the real Jamie? That’s too funny!

  2. I love the way you captured this funny moment. Great example to show my students how a writer uses internal thinking. I can totally connect with trying to figure out where to hide the books and where to find the car.

  3. This happens to me a lot. The thing about not sure if you know the person, so you play along. Names have been the first thing to go for me in my 50’s. Ugh! It can be so embarrassing. I saw a former parent in Target a few weeks ago. I could name all her kids. I could see their faces. But her name didn’t come to me until a few days later. Needless to say, I was too embarrassed to greet her, so I turned my cart the other way.
    I agree with Ramona, too. This is a great example of internal dialogue.

  4. Your post made me giggle! So funny how people try to relate to you and then call you by someone else’s name. It’s embarassing when you can’t remember people’s names. I usually forget when I am first meeting someone (like at parties) and I’m so nervous, my concentration drizzles out of my ears! The nervousness distracts me from hearing what I should be paying attention to…I do though, whenever I can, learn to memorize students’ names-Dr. Robert Brooks tells stories about how students appreciate when we know who they are!

Leave a Reply

