…stand together and don’t stand alone…

Standard

I’ve been a teacher for thirty-six years. Three times I have taken a ‘intent to strike’ vote.  Today was my third.  We took our vote, hoping that this vote would send a strong message.  Thirty-four students in kindergarten, first and second grade classrooms is wrong on way too many levels.  Our students deserve the best that we can give them and it seems virtually impossible to give them the attention that they need in this present environment.  We are told that we expect too much, that we refuse to compromise and cooperate.  We are told that we are not being fiscally responsible to the taxpayer.  We are told that we don’t understand the economics of situation.

However, we do understand that children deserve the best from us, we do understand that they need well qualified and passionate teachers to deliver superior instruction throughout their entire school career.

And we understand that our children are the hope of this broken world.

Yes, I am a union girl.  My grandfather was in the brick laying union in the early 1900’s.  He was also an immigrant who proudly became a United States citizen.  My father went to college on the G.I. bill.  I’m proud to say he was the organizer of a pension fund at the engineering firm he worked at in Chicago.

Today there are whispers in my head from my grandpa and from my dad.

They say to me….stand together and don’t stand alone;  that is what your stock is made of.

I love this song by Nickelback.

About Judson RISE professor

lifelong teacher who is semi-retired (does this sound better?) who loves God, family and laughing... who hates social injustice... who wants to write every day... who needs to exercise every day... who blog hops... who wants to live her everyday life led by her savior, Jesus Christ!

7 responses »

  1. How can anyone think 34 students in the early grades is good practice? I am so sad when it all comes down to dollars and cents because that’s when sense seems to leave.

  2. I love the way Ramona phrased it, “Stand with those giants from your past…” I also really enjoyed the power of getting to the part about the union history in your family, adding a new layer to the vote you recently did. I hope that this is all resolved soon.

Leave a Reply

