Forwards….

Standard

When I get a forward in my email in box I usually can’t click delete fast enough.  However, there is one  friend that I always read.  She was my daughter’s high school English teacher; well-respected mentor of my husband in the English department, and speaker of three languages fluently. She is simply just a wonder… this former nun who is now happily traveling the world in retirement with her husband of many years.  I never take a pass on her insight. Oh, one important thing that I must mention she has a fabulous sense of humor.

Now are you anxious for the forward?

18 years ago the USA had Steve Jobs, Bob Hope and Johnny Cash ….

Now we have no Jobs, no Hope and no Cash.

I read that on last week before one of the workshops that I was hosting with my literacy team to all the third grade teachers in our enormous district outside of Chicago.  Why, you might ask?  How would that fit in during a workshop on writing workshops?

(This is just an aside, some of you might have guessed with things where I have to repeat information five days in a row, I do have a tendency to go off script a bit.)

But this is the exact script my district is facing, what all our teachers are facing, and what our world is facing. This forward is so negative…don’t you think?  Or is it?

I do miss Steve’s creativity, Bob’s joy and giving spirit, and Johnny’s amazing life story that is told cleverly through music.  So, I told our teachers this, as they cackled and wondered where I was going with this funny forward.  We have these amazing legacies forever;  creativity, laughter and music. And these things will never die and will forever be important to all of us.

Are we leaving legacies in our classroom? Planting love that will last forever?

Our children will never remember the topic of their one minute fluency timing even a second after reading it. They will however, remember the joy they felt as they practiced, rehearsed and performed a spooky Jack Prelutzky reader’s theater and that wintry day  when you brought a special delivery  letters to the class that were  straight from the North Pole.  And they were still cold, really, really cold.  Yes, we leave our touch, our imprint, our life on theirs.  I want to intentionally make those marks daily in my classroom.

About ...never ending story

lifelong teacher who is semi-retired (does this sound better?) who loves God, family and laughing... who hates social injustice... who wants to write every day... who needs to exercise every day... who blog hops... who wants to live her everyday life led by her savior, Jesus Christ!

8 responses »

  1. I love the meandering & the clever way you put it all together in something so valuable for all of us who work with children. We do want to leave our mark, but the special memories as you shared. Thanks for the nudging ‘forward’.

  2. I love the way you turned what could be construed as something very negative into something positive. The idea of legacies is important. Thanks for spinning things into a positive way, which is the only way to move forward!

  3. Your message is an important one. We can “do” the work of teaching as if we were robots acting the script in some teaching saga; OR, we can take the required work and intermingle it with love and passion for learning. It’s our choice to make learning memorable for our students – every day.

  4. I enjoyed that you gave the background of forwards with you before moving into this specific one and how it played out in your life. What a nice balance for a slice.

  5. I loved the way you brought out an unexpected meassage from that “forward”- one with a look back as well as a look forward. And I loved, loved, loved your examples at the end. With everything that is happening in education today, I hope we never give the creativity that compels us to find time for things like spooky reader’s theater and really cold letters from the North Pole.

Leave a Reply

