what I do when there is too much to do…

Standard

Sunday- with a myriad of tasks left undone…

What should I start? Where do I begin? Should I start with easiest or hardest?  What do you do when your trying to inch your way out of an excruciating week of sighs and tears?

I want to do easiest I decide.  I put the dishes from last night into the dishwasher grab the crumbs and throw them into the sink, scrub pots and click the disposal on.  As it grinds, I say to myself, “lately it is all one big grind”.

Next, I grab my keys for the one errand that needs to get done so that I can mail the package to one of my daughters best friends who recently had a baby.  I grumble as I see it is trick-or-treating at the mall.  I need to get in, get out….fast, or a gremlin will recognize my slick backed, no made-up face.

As I quickly put the package in the trunk.  I spy three of my backpacks…one from school, one from the university class that I teach and a myriad of books from the workshop that our team led last week.  I’ve simply got to clean this because Dave is losing patience with my messy car.  I feel his judging eyes every time we are in this car together.  Papers are shooting out like ghosts chiding me, reminding me that I have yet to conquer the organization thing.

Peeping out from the back trunk  I see my Barnes and Noble bag that I have hidden.  It is filled with my secret purchase last Wednesday night before the start of my writing circle.  It is a new book, another secret present to myself, Joan Bauer’s latest … Almost Home. I am almost home, I thought.  Home to figure out what needs to be done before I start tomorrow.  The cover tantalizes me, the main character’s name, Sugar, beckons me, the plot summons me.

I ignore the piling up of emails from our union and from my undergrads.

I ignore the crumpled leaves that are starting to fly into our neighbors’ treeless yard.

I ignore the elliptical.

I ignore the laundry, the vacuum, my trunk and my office.

I turn on the fireplace.

I turn on the cozy light.

I turn the page and I begin to feel the joy return… flooding every cell, every worn out place in my life.

About Judson RISE professor

lifelong teacher who is semi-retired (does this sound better?) who loves God, family and laughing... who hates social injustice... who wants to write every day... who needs to exercise every day... who blog hops... who wants to live her everyday life led by her savior, Jesus Christ!

9 responses »

  1. Your story made me laugh as you worked your way through the tasks. Love the image of the papers as ghosts! Hiding a Barnes and Noble bag is exactly something I would do. I must bring the new books into the house unobserved too. Another commonality. 🙂

  2. I began smiling somewhere before your last paragraph as I realized that you were going to pick the book over everything else. Smiling because I was happy for you, smiling because it felt a little naughty to pick the book over chores, smiling because I love the decision and have known myself to do the same and delight in it when I do. Good for you for taking time to read and relax! Loved the built up to that ending!

Leave a Reply

