Just one?

Standard

sols_blueI hate when I miss important things.  I hate when I arrive late.  I hate when I can’t get to a key board in time.  We were in Ecuador for two weeks visiting my daughter, son-in-law and the most important eighteen month old in the universe, Sammie.  We traveled light for ourselves and heavy for them.  There are many things that they just can’t get, that they miss, and we brought them along in two very old and enormous suitcases.  So we  went pretty light and I was relegated to journaling long hand, while Dave kept his I-pad with his downloaded books close.  Mid-way through the trip, I started to crack.  I cried that I desperately needed to check in with my Slicing friends.

It was amazing reading about the concept of choosing a single word, for the year.  I poured over the Slices but couldn’t comment, because of the keypad on the I-Pad is so unlike my laptop that I have high anxiety when I try to use it for more than a few words.

So I gave up and started to think about my word…just one?  So for me I wanted it to be a big word that would have many definitions or a crazy enough word that I could even add to the definitions.  It would have to fit where I am at these days and where I’m going.  It needed to be relevant in my school context and personal life.  It needed to be God driven.

Drum roll…I’m singing it.

I love the sound of it….

My word is FLOW.

It ended up being a massive word.

That day I told my family about the ‘ one word thing’ and felt like I was talking to air.  The next day, however, my daughter asked about it at dinner and I felt brave enough to share my word.  I tried to put it into words, why I picked flow and I felt somewhat tongue tied and thought to myself, “I better write about this…even if it means… errr… long hand.”  Today, back at home, I opened my journal and read what I had written about in that spare bedroom that night in Ecuador.

Definition 1

Oh God, my God, earnestly I seek you.  My soul thirsts for you, my body longs for you, in a dry and weary land where there is no water.  Psalm 63:1

I want this year to count for your kingdom, God. I want my life to about this word flow.  I want to be a stream of water that flows down, dripping of goodness and mercy.  I want to flow over the rocks, the hard places, with grace, fortitude and wisdom.  I want to go and flow out in a refreshing way, touching with cool puddles around the feet of the weary.  I want the flexibility of my flow to spring forth into immediate action as well as that patient flow, ever steady, winding down and meandering in the valley.

Thank you God for being ever-present in the flow, for bobbing up and down and backstroking down stream  covering me with your grace and love.

Let it flow through me… let it flow through me …

Definition 2

Simply put… ‘go with the flow’.  Stop trying to always dig your own stream bed.  Notice what is going on around you and fit in to worthy plans.  Stop trying to always make it your project, your big deal.  Encourage others in their dreams and see potential.  Compromise.

Thank you God for being ever-present in our flow in the midst of others teach me to talk less and listen harder.

Let it flow through me… let it flow through me …

Definition 3

Creative energy flow is a force that is meant to be shared with others.  Look for new ways to share your creative flowing spirit.  Take this risky business seriously and give way to the flow in all aspects of your life.  Learn to appreciate the up-side-down part of your personality.

Thank you God for creating my fingers, my toes, and help me to give thanks for making me and appreciating my creative voice.

Let it flow through me… let it flow through me …

I think I will enjoy this new experiment.  Thank you Ruth and Stacey  for suggesting that we try one word in 2013.

 

 

 

About ...never ending story

lifelong teacher who is semi-retired (does this sound better?) who loves God, family and laughing... who hates social injustice... who wants to write every day... who needs to exercise every day... who blog hops... who wants to live her everyday life led by her savior, Jesus Christ!

10 responses »

  1. I absolutely love your piece — it is perfect. Flow. Reading your definitions was like examining my own soul in the mirror. Thanks for starting my day in an encouraging way!

  2. Your voice has been missed, glad you are back and you got to spend time with precious people. Your word will carry you through this year, love it!

  3. I love the word flow and all three meanings. I hope to go with the flow more this year, but I also want to be flowing with goodness and creativity. So simple, yet so complex.

  4. I believe that God will irrigate your dry land this year; He will let the new waters “flow” trough your land and bring new things with them! Your deep thinking challenges me to dig deeper as well!

  5. I loved your journal entries from Ecuador. Your word is beautiful. I don’t have a word yet for this year either. My staff told me to read your writing. I am glad I did. Thank you for sharing your heart.

Leave a Reply

