Hmmm…

Standard

sols_blue1.  I finally learned how to spell it.  For many years I spelled it Ecquador and wondered why the red underline came on the computer screen.  I finally saw a sign in the airport and I said to myself, “My, that is a new way to spell it.!”  I kind of felt the way I did when I taught longitude and latitude wrong and got caught by a parent after I sent a final test home to be signed.  hmmm…

2.  It is a very sweaty country but I still loved to sit outside and sweat. hmmm …

3.  I think there were more grillos (crickets) that flew into Emily’s car port than the whole rest of the world.  Nope, I’m not making this up and  I will be a topic for at least one other post.  hmmm…

4.  Airport security was impressive and this time no one checked our brown sugar or suggested that we were smugglers.  I don’t know if you were aware that I was checked at the airport in Costa Rica for smuggling, dare I say it, powdered sugar!  hmmm…

5.  Sand is really important to eat if you are an industrious 18 month old.  Sammie has a passion for salt and at such an early age. hmmm…

6.  You can’t ever bring our family together for an extended amount of time, without at least one blow up that always, of course, is all my fault.  (don’t get me wrong, I love my family so much, almost in a suffocating way sometimes, but is it really always my fault?)  hmmm…

7.  Nodding and smiling in conversations where you can’t communicate is an excellent tactic.  You will feel understood and people will love you and still kiss you, probably because you didn’t utter even a phrase!  (Oh, by the way, I was extremely impressed by my daughter Emily and by the way she let the Ecuadorians also speak in the conversation.  My girl has been talking a mile a minute since she was toddler.   And I was astounded by her newly acquired language skills, even though I didn’t understand any words except ‘grillos’. )  hmmm…

8.  It is hard to breathe in the Andes mountains, it’s hard to walk in the Andes mountains because it is hard to breathe.  A person probably should leave the Andes mountains because of both of these things.  Babies who can walk and run, but know how to cry shouldn’t probably go for a trip to the Andes mountains for a very, very long car ride, because it can be very sad for everyone else  that can hear.  hmmm…

9.  You can know and understand how it feels to be stared at for being different in Ecuador.  At 5 feet 10 inches I do look like a giant with ghost blonde hair.  I understand this completely because when I put my glasses on in the mornings lately, I scare myself.  hmmm…

10. To leave these loving and happy people is very difficult, and seriously we all do speak the language of love and these people have  it pouring from their souls.  We were welcomed graciously and felt like their family for the entire trip.

PS  My own family, and the wonder baby, Samantha, were difficult to let go of, again.  Oh, how I miss my sweet girls.  Here is a photo of  Dave and Sammie.  Thank the good Lord that I got to bring Dave home, what would I do without him?

Grandpa's favorite flower!

Grandpa’s favorite flower!

About Judson RISE professor

lifelong teacher who is semi-retired (does this sound better?) who loves God, family and laughing... who hates social injustice... who wants to write every day... who needs to exercise every day... who blog hops... who wants to live her everyday life led by her savior, Jesus Christ!

6 responses »

  1. I think there is a longer story here. What a great adventure and what a gorgeous grandchild! About 15 years ago, our family spent a Christmas in Chile (which is not pronounced like chili), and I felt like I was in a totally different world. The language was so foreign, I don’t think most of the people there had even heard English, much less speak it. Lots of smiling and head bobbing. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Sounds like you had a great visit. I know how difficult it is to leave daughter and grandchildren. Fortunately, ours are only 10 hours away and thank goodness for Skype! Looking forward to more stories from Ecuador. Smuggling???? hmmmm

  3. Sounds to me like there are several more slices waiting to be written! Grillos, car trips to the Andes, and of course grandbaby stories! And if it’s any comfort, my family always has at least one major blow up every year…And ours are usually my fault!

  4. I enjoyed reading this so much…these snippets were familiar. Being sweaty was a daily fact of life when I lived in Panama (Fort Clayton/Corozal, courtesy of Uncle Sam). Airport security can be such an adventure…in Peru, there is a red light/green light system. If you get the green light, you hand over your customs declaration and go on through. If you get the red light, the contents of your suitcases are dumped out for “inspection.” Nodding and smiling is a great way to communicate…and it does work when the people involved speak the same language of love!

    I love how you call your granddaughter “wonder baby”- that is something she will treasure when the family stories are told as she grows up!

Leave a Reply

