Kiss, love and go…

Standard

sols_blueLast week Friday was a big event for me at school; it was the last day for me to do ‘Kiss and go’, as we fondly call it, at our school.  It was the last day this year that I would stand at the long, winding  curb, open car doors in the morning, greet the children and tell the parents, cheerfully to ‘have a great day’.  I know it is kind of crazy to say that I will miss this morning duty.  Getting out in the fresh, frosty air clears my head despite sometimes getting a bit upset if parents stop when they need to pull forward and when they arrive late and impatient.  The other day however I noticed something very unusual.

One of the dad’s, right after I opened the car door actually said, “Goodbye son, remember I love you.”  I closed the door, watched this young boy walk towards our school door, stop and turn around to make eye contact with his dad still in the car driving around our circle.  I watched  him as he blew  a kiss in his direction.  He demonstrated ‘Kiss and go’, a visual example.  This is not why I was awestruck.  I was awestruck because it is very unusual for me to hear the words, I love you,  as parents are leaving their children every morning.  And it makes me sad.

Maybe they have excuses, like- that lady is intruding on my personal time, or I’m late for work, or I can’t stand this traffic line I’m in every day at this school.  But on this day, at this moment, I worry about it.  How many of our children do not hear these words daily in their homes?

In the aftermath of disasters in our country do you ever feel that collective sigh of  the people?  Does even the traffic flow feel different to you?  I noticed more patience and consideration in lines in the flow of the every day, after Sandy Hook, after 9/11.  It is almost like the earth has stopped spinning and we walk in other peoples’ lives momentarily. But then it all goes back to the way it was, several weeks later.  What could our world become if we all just sat in ‘time out’  just a little longer?

Many, many years back a friend of mine had an older sister that was married.  Her husband tragically died in an accident at work.  My girlfriend told me that her sister would never be the same because of what she didn’t say the morning her husband left for work. I think you know the words.

In every conversation this year, in person or on the phone,my dad has said to me before he hangs up…”luv ya, luv ya! ” I was a child who grew up in the sixties.  Back then, we didn’t usually end our conversations like that, but my dad now has caught on.  At 87 he knows that he needs to tell me this every time as we say goodbye.  He laughs as he says it, but he knows I need to hear it.

I want to rename our morning duty KISS, LOVE AND GO .  I made a new poster in honor of the name change, again I’m going to put it right by my desk.  Sometimes a small change can make a big difference!

Let it flow through me, let it flow through me. (flow is my one word this year)

KISS, LOVE AND FLOW, EVERYWHERE YOU GO

Nancy remember to:  KISS, LOVE AND GO, EVERYWHERE YOU FLOW!

 
About ...never ending story

lifelong teacher who is semi-retired (does this sound better?) who loves God, family and laughing... who hates social injustice... who wants to write every day... who needs to exercise every day... who blog hops... who wants to live her everyday life led by her savior, Jesus Christ!

14 responses »

  1. Nancy, Nancy, Nancy. I wasn’t expecting to cry this morning. Thankfully I told me husband I loved him before he left for work this morning.. And I always tell my kids, I love them. Your poster is wonderful and I want one for my fridge.
    Is this your last year Nancy? Is that really the very last time you get do Kiss, Love and Go? (Maybe you can do it on your last day of school, and all of your kids can blow you kisses)
    I will be praying for you. You will have a lot of lasts this year.
    Love from your friend, 50 something Pamela

  2. I love that. I guess I do the same thing when Tuvia leaves my place early in the morning. I always linger and watch him walk down the stairs and out the path…maybe for the last time…
    Bonnie

  3. Thanks, Nanc, for this reminder. My hubby and I tell each other often and it is such a warm fuzzy when it comes with a hug and kiss. I always end my conversations with my kids and grandkids with and I love you and a squeeze. But how often are we preoccupied and don’t think about those 3 words. I’m glad that you got to hear and see this love between father and son..

  4. I love the poster. It’s such a visual reminder of your new title for this duty – Kiss, love, and go. Now to share it with the parent community! And I look forward to hearing more about your OLW, flow, during this year.

  5. Love your rewrite – “Kiss, Love, and Go” – what a fabulous idea! What a great way to inspire families…these goodbye rituals are so important. You received a real gift to observe that father saying “I love you” – very special. Thanks for sharing.

  6. We must, must, must tell our children that we love them often (more than once a day).

    My daughter isn’t speaking yet, but yesterday I asked her, “Do you know Mommy loves you?” She smiled and nodded with her head and her entire toddler body. I enveloped her in a bear hug and said some other sweet words (I don’t recall what they were.). She might not be able to tell me that she loves me back, but, by golly, she knows I love her. To me, that is everything right now. I’ve said it enough to get my point across, which means I will KEEP ON SAYING IT so she knows.

    Love the poster. I’m pinning it right now!

  7. Pingback: The Act of Reading Books to Children Shows How Much You Love Them @HarperCollins @MacKidsBooks « Raising a Literate Human

  8. Pingback: The Act of Reading Books to Children Shows How Much You Love Them « Raising a Literate Human

Leave a Reply

