1st Post in my series about getting to know Nanc

Standard
One down, 30 to go, praying for an idea every day.

One down, 30 to go, praying for an idea every day.

Today I decided that I’d better write that first post, because tomorrow will be scary busy with Dave coming home, working all day at school and then all night at our Care Center.  I still prefer to call it the ‘Pantry’ but the name is changing because we will be offering help to people plus, of course,  food.  In another couple of months dentistry, optometry, financial counseling, job resources, CARS for single parents and a special new clothing store for children will all take place on our church campus.  I love serving there every Thursday night.

But I digress. And this is becoming so typical for my 50 something brain.  Remember that show 30 Something?  I loved it. Back then I was 30 something and now I need a new show to help me with this 50 something brain of mine. Oops… another digression.

Now for the real story… like today I was in a domains meeting on one of my sweeties that lives in my last group of the day, every day.

Sweetie’s  mom said, ” We have a problem here…Little Miss Sweetie likes to keep her room in mass chaos.”

I smiled and said, “Could you explain a little bit more?

“Well, everything around the room is not in its right place, you know, there are piles everywhere.”

I am starting to sweat,visualizing my office with my cozy red chair stacked with books, my shelves of books in disarray and my piles of papers, professional books crisscrossed in a giant rolling cart that hasn’t been touched since the second I hoisted it up to my second floor newly designed space.  To top it all off, I have to finish cleaning it before Dave comes home;  it has been a goal for 10 days now.

I blurted out, “Well as a family how have you handled this?”

She smiled and said, “I did read an article on Pin-ter-est that explicitly said to move things out of her room to make it as sparse as possible and then that is what I did…I got these tubs and taught Miss Sweetie how to put pencils in one bin and markers in the other and paints in another.  The secret is in the monitoring of all of it.”

I laughed then and said, “Thank you Mrs. Sweetie Pie for giving me some hope.” I stopped short of asking her for tutelage because my friend the psychologist said, “Ah, yes, organization is very difficult for children with attentional difficulties.”

Right now, as I write I make a decision to go upstairs to do what I should have done in November. I will march up and wheel that cart down two flights of stairs to the basement and put it in Dave’s sparkling clean work space.  That will be his happy little surprise when he gets home from Ecuador tomorrow.

Again, another digression...  I’m going to try to take a picture so Pam ‘Pooh’ Hodges will really believe that I have finally cleaned up 🙂  It is 6:02 pm.  I wonder how long will this take…

Now it is 9:30.  I took one break for a shower because of all the up and down and anxious thoughts, still not done …but I recovered the chair and figured out how to send a picture from my phone.   Please note:  You can only see part of the room in this photo.  It’s better, but still needs some of  Mrs. Sweetie’s touch.

SAMSUNG

About Judson RISE professor

lifelong teacher who is semi-retired (does this sound better?) who loves God, family and laughing... who hates social injustice... who wants to write every day... who needs to exercise every day... who blog hops... who wants to live her everyday life led by her savior, Jesus Christ!

9 responses »

  1. I love this space! I want to plop right down in this chair and read! Your post made this 50-something brain laugh! And think of a card I saw at Kinkos tonight- something about happy birthday from someone whose last name is organized, then you opened it, and it said, “And the first name is poorly.” That would definitely be me!

  2. Oh, Nanc, you gave me a good laugh with this post today. Yes, a 50 something brain is so different from the previous decades. You do have a lovely space created, so maintain it and enjoy this place. I guess I need to get started on my room. 🙂

  3. Nanc, just wait til you get that 60 something brain – I can only say “it gets worse and not better”! Love your space and especially liked that you moved your cart to Dave’s space. I’m sure he’ll take extra special care of it. Thanks for the laugh!

  4. I am so proud of you, Nanc! I have a room like this, too, where all my wonderful books, papers, files, etc. pile up —- but it’s not a mess to me because I know where to find everything. It just doesn’t look clean. Perhaps I need to do what you did — just go and find a real spot for everything. But then I ask myself: How long will the “clean up” actually last?

    Hmmmmmm…..perhaps I’ll just keep reading everyone’s blogs. 🙂

Leave a Reply

