‘fighting the bad guys’

Standard
super guy, super spy

super guy, super spy

Dave’s traveling days and ways are behind him because  he has now run out of  pocket change.  It is time to start his job again this week planting bulbs and seedlings at his job, the wonderful nursery.  He can purchase perennials by the millions, at discounted prices.  I admit that I am exaggerating a bit, but you know how I hide purchased picture books- he tries to get his plants in the ground before I get home from work!  But it has been wonderful, this second year of retirement.  He is in the groove of a week filled with volunteering  meeting and eating with friends and family just about every day of the week.  I slice, he digs.  I slice, he cleans. I slice, he eats. I slice, he hits!

“What?”, you are asking.  that is so out of character for Dave.  He is so gentle with Sammie and tender with new roots and shoots.”

But, when he is asleep, he moves as a stealthy spy, ready to pounce, ready to move in for the …

“Dave ,” I scream, “You just hit me really hard on my shoulder.”

“Oh,” and he rolls over.

I know I just interrupted his favorite espionage dream.  The next day I ask him if he remembers his lethal weapon and who it was used on. “Yeah sorry, I was just fightin’ the bad guys.”

I thought,  “too many spy thrillers and nights spent not sharing his bed with his  ‘beloved damsel in distress’.

PS  Dave also  reads and reads and reads.

About Judson RISE professor

lifelong teacher who is semi-retired (does this sound better?) who loves God, family and laughing... who hates social injustice... who wants to write every day... who needs to exercise every day... who blog hops... who wants to live her everyday life led by her savior, Jesus Christ!

4 responses »

  1. Oh my gosh….this totally just made me laugh!! My husband does the same thing from time to time. One of these nights, I’m going to record him talking and moving in his sleep so he can see how funny he looks. 🙂

  2. I love the stories you tell and how you tell it! He hides the plants before you get home, is just too funny! I hope the action figure slows down a bit every night.

Leave a Reply

