a ‘baby whisperer’

Standard
Daughter #2

Daughter #2

Dave is Ecuador with Kelly  visiting Em, Sammie and John, I am home moving joylessly through my day because of green jealousy.  I want to be Kelly and be  snuggling with Sammie.  Well, we don’t exactly snuggle in Ecuador because it is hot and sweaty.

The reason I’m jealous is because Kelly, my foster daughter…no my real daughter…is the ‘baby whisperer’.  The truth is…I’m not.  I may be a first grade whisperer or a fourth grade whisperer or even a seventh grade whisperer, but I have never been able to soothe babies…sometimes not even my own.  Kelly is gifted in this way and I am just jealous and want to be her even in that sweaty, rainy and cricket filled town.

But today I have made a decision.  I will kick to the curb these feelings.  They are not right, they are not healthy.  Today I have decided I will celebrate gratitude for these nine years that we have had this cheerful, capable and loving girl in our midst.  I will celebrate the new bond that she has forged with Emily and appreciate  that she has taken the time away from her job, her boyfriend and her life in Chicago to visit her sister and niece in a village that doesn’t have hot water, Starbucks or public transportation without chickens sitting in the next seat.

I will sit watching the light snow falling and I am  mindful of all that I have been blessed with.  I murmur a prayer asking for forgiveness.  I feel lighter. xo

 

About ...never ending story

lifelong teacher who is semi-retired (does this sound better?) who loves God, family and laughing... who hates social injustice... who wants to write every day... who needs to exercise every day... who blog hops... who wants to live her everyday life led by her savior, Jesus Christ!

3 responses »

  1. I have three daughters. Now that they are in their 20s, they are best friends. Sometimes I get jealous of this and realize how stupid that is. I should be grateful they are so close. I think it is natural for us to be jealous but it is also right to kick those feelings out.

  2. What a lovely post–it’s hard sometimes to not be something we admire in someone else. Your words help us see that appreciating those things in them and celebrating them can help us let go of what we are not. My guess is that she sees things in you that she wishes were in herself as well.

Leave a Reply

