Doing doughnuts…

Standard
Am I looking at the last of the snow?

Am I looking at the last of the snow?

Today as the snow was following I was thinking about my 87 year old father, Bob, going to his Dr. appointment.  I told him he should probably cancel because of the weather.  I knew he wouldn’t and my heart started pounding thinking about it.

You see, my daddy loves snow, he always has and he always will.

I was fearing the worst, thinking he might try some doughnuts on the neighborhood streets on the way to the Dr.’s office.  He used to love to take us all out on snow rides on the very same route he was taking today.  He’d say, “Girls, tighten your seatbelts.”  “We’d say why?”  and then he’d stomp on the breaks and the car would swing into a wide turn, almost a complete circle doing ‘doughnuts’.

My mom would cry,”Bob, just stop, you’ll scare the girls.”

Of course, we were screaming in delight, egging him on.  We loved it and we loved him!

You see, my daddy loves snow, he always has and he always will.

He also loved to shovel going out like clockwork  in two-hour intervals, cutting a clean line on all the sidewalk edges, doing our house and as many  neighbors as he could get to in our tree-lined suburban neighborhood. My dad was really such a kid at heart.  We all had beautiful sleds and one year Santa brought us our beloved padded, red-checked toboggan.  Many of our friends families had toboggans too.  Every Saturday he brought us to the hills of a golf course nearby.

It is a miracle we survived with no broken bones or head injuries because as we grew we decided it was such fun to stand to stand up on the toboggan with as many of our friends that we could  going down the hill.  The icy rides were the best.  No man was left standing by the end of the ride.  I’m sure my dad invented this new game to try.  He was a wild, creative  man at heart, disguised in this cautious unassuming exterior. But Bobby,  he always had this twinkle in his eye that glimmered on days like this.

You see, my daddy loves snow, he always has and he always will.

I called my mom later this afternoon, wondering if he had cancelled his appointment.  Are you kidding, she even laughed as she said it, “Daddy loves the snow, now don’t you remember those perfect doughnuts?”

You see, my daddy loves snow, he always has and he always will.

PS Saw him yesterday…87 and still going strong!

About Judson RISE professor

lifelong teacher who is semi-retired (does this sound better?) who loves God, family and laughing... who hates social injustice... who wants to write every day... who needs to exercise every day... who blog hops... who wants to live her everyday life led by her savior, Jesus Christ!

10 responses »

  1. Your dad sounds like big fun! He definitely left you with a lot of happy snowy memories! My dad used to take us toboganning, too, although I don’t remember ever standing up! I do remember crashing into hay bales at the bottom of a very steep hill!

  2. I also love snow! I relish the small descriptive detail, “cutting a clean line on all the sidewalk edges” I know it is not a common thing but winter, that white fluffy fun…snow is one of my favorite things. Beautifully written 🙂

  3. Not the doughnuts I was expecting, but you left me hungry for more. So different from some of the grumpy men in my life who moan and groan as they go through it. He is a gem.

  4. What great memories and what a fun Dad! My dad loved the snow, too. After he retired, he would show up at my school on a snowy day, clean the windshield, and leave the car running and warm for me at the end of the day!

  5. I loved reading about your dad. He sounds like such a fun dad to grow up with. I thought your repeated line was brilliant and worked very well in your piece. I liked also how your mom came in at
    the end. How lucky they both still have each other….and lucky for you too.

Leave a Reply

