2001 Space _________ (fill in the blank)

Standard
Am I looking at the last of the snow?

2001 or bust!

Today when I posted for the slice I anxiously awaited the number, it pleased me, 100 slices.  I wasn’t at all sure last year when I did March if I would ever make it through March, writing frequently was new to me.  Many of us in this challenge remember the movie 2001 Space Odyssey at the theater in the late ’60s.  I was 12 years old.  All I remember thinking back then was, we will never get there, this will never come to pass in my lifetime.  The movie felt dark, but even so, I was intrigued.  My daughter graduated from high school in 2001 and I also remember thinking, “my daughter graduates in a year that I never thought would come.”

So tomorrow, when my blog shows me this is my 101 post, I know that it is not my 2001 post, however it is significant because it is an utter surprise because I never thought it would come to pass…  the gratitude I feel…the strength that I have developed this past year.  My writing bones are still growing and I have still so much to learn…but it is a foundation.

Thank you Ruth and Stacy for believing in all of us, for opening up your writing lives to all of us.  And most of all, thank you my friends who give kind words.  It is such a life lesson, isn’t it ?  My students have gained because of  the words that you write to me…because I look for the good in what they write now.  I don’t always move that difficult piece to the bottom of the pile.  I look for the good.

I am at the end of my season as a teacher…one year left, and tears are starting to spring at the thought.  The vast majority of you are at the beginning.  I know that you will be able to take what you learn from here and live like you do during the slice…being faithful, diligent, organized and loving with the students entrusted to your care.

About ...never ending story

lifelong teacher who is semi-retired (does this sound better?) who loves God, family and laughing... who hates social injustice... who wants to write every day... who needs to exercise every day... who blog hops... who wants to live her everyday life led by her savior, Jesus Christ!

10 responses »

  1. Congratulations on this milestone! Exciting! I’m getting close to the end of my teaching career, I guess, but can’t even stand to think about quitting yet. I still love what I do. Ok, except maybe this week and next, when we are giving the dang state tests. Happy Monday!

  2. Oh Nancy. I am crying with you. Looking for the good. I will think of that today, when I read what my student writes. I wonder what new adventure you will embark on when this one ends?
    You have writing in your bones. I hope you don’t stop.

  3. Congratulations on hitting that happy hundred posts! This daily writing and reading changes us in so many ways. I too, now look for the gem in the writing. Your classroom adventure will end, but you will find a new adventure and keep writing. 🙂

  4. Congratulations on your 100th post. Check out the 100 posts picture I made on Saturday! I love your line – “my writing bones are still growing.” Thanks for the encouraging comments you leave me, I can always sense your fun personality behind the words!

  5. Congrats, Nanc! 100 slices is quite an accomplishment. I enjoy your slices and your comments mean a lot to me. Retirement is great and you will find many things to fill your days – especially writing or maybe visiting your daughter!

  6. Congratulations on accomplishing this milestone!! It is such a good feeling. Definitely a reason to celebrate. Maybe you should get a cake with 100 written on it just like the networks do for a television series when they reach their 100th episode.

  7. What an accomplishment for you! You make me think I might make it one day. This is my second year of writing every day in March and I find that I enjoy it much more than I ever thought I would. I hope you are looking forward to writing even more at the end of the year.

  8. You are so full of passion and insight–I hope I have it when I near the end of my teaching career. I have nine more to go before 100–thanks for helping me realize that day will be a celebration. I’ll do something crazy when I blog that day. Hmmmmm…what to do?

Leave a Reply

