Malachi

Standard
10-10-80

10-10-80

Today we heard a message about giving the ‘first fruits’, or the first ten percent of our earnings to God.  It is a message I have heard many times in my adult life.  It has been something that I have struggled with because by nature I’m a saver for a rainy day type of person.

When I was a little girl I would save money in my quarter saver.  I would save baby sitting money in my oven mitt that I had made in junior high home economics.  It dangled over my head, hanging from my bed post as I slept.  I just loved to sit on my bed and count my money to make sure my younger sisters weren’t taking any of it.  I really never had a goal for my money, I just liked seeing it stack up.   Even back then, my dad would encourage me to give part of my earnings in the Sunday school offering.  We had little envelopes to put the money in.  My dad didn’t talk about percentages back then, he just said “some”.  So I did give…some, usually as little as possible, after all, it was a secret and in an envelope.

Fast forward to my married life.  I married a ‘giver’.  His spiritual gift is giving and our church reinforced this principle.  My heart was never convinced even at this point, to trust God, to believe his promises of taking care of us through it all.  After all, I had married a teacher, not a millionaire.  Times were lean, we gave.  Times were better, we gave.  Times were lean, we gave.  Times were better…. As a parents, we taught this principle to our children.  Blessings…our God has always provided a way.

Malachi 3:10

Bring the whole tithe into the storehouse, that there may be food in my house.
Test me in this,” says the LORD Almighty, “and see if I will not throw open the
floodgates of heaven and pour out so much blessing that there will not be room
enough to store it.

About Judson RISE professor

lifelong teacher who is semi-retired (does this sound better?) who loves God, family and laughing... who hates social injustice... who wants to write every day... who needs to exercise every day... who blog hops... who wants to live her everyday life led by her savior, Jesus Christ!

5 responses »

  1. It is not that God needs our money to accomplish His purposes. Rather He allows us to participate because of what it does for us. Thinking this was has changed my heart towards giving and given me a greater vision of my participation in hIs kingdom work.

  2. When I was a poor, struggling beginning teacher…I found I had to give by doing service to others and volunteering. Now I am able to give money…but find the need to volunteer my time too. This was stressed by my parents and our church and I am glad to have had that part of my upbringing. Jackie http://familytrove.blogspot.com/

  3. I had a hard time giving for years–I always justified why I couldn’t. However, I have experienced the many blessings of giving in the last few years and now trust the message in Malachi wholeheartedly.

  4. Pingback: Malachi- the second part of the story | Two years and finishing strong...

Leave a Reply

