stomping on the grillos

Standard
'crickets'

‘crickets’

It was the beginning of rainy season when we got to Ecuador on Christmas Eve.  We enjoyed our Christmas morning and later in the day something else came to town and it wasn’t Santa on a return visit. grillos, very well-developed crickets flew into town. Not just one …millions flew in from the fields surrounding this town. They knew that the rains would soon be flooding the surrounding rice fields where they live.  According to the locals they came every year, trying to find food and shelter and life in the villages.  So on Christmas day they littered the carport, tried getting into the house through any opening.  I guess cement construction is not at all airtight, nothing is airtight, in South America.

I admit to laughing inside about it on day one, my camper, my first-born daughter who loves learning about everything bug and science related was in a frenzy.  She used the hose to spray the sides of the house and then stomped on the struggling crickets with a vengeance that I hadn’t seen since her tantum two-year old days.   At one point during , she glared at me and said, “Not in my house !”  I looked up with my serious face and started contributing, stomping on the grillos  to help this poor frantic child of mine.

Lately, I have been thinking about the ferocious attacking.  “What are the ‘grillos’ in my life?  What do I need to attack so the pestilence  doesn’t invade my soul? It wasn’t hard for me to answer my own question.  I desire to act like a child of God, a person who displays in my every day life the fruits of the spirit.   Galatians 5:22 says:  “But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law. ” This is the way I want to live!  When I see the ‘grillos’ spring up in my life I need to attack… look at them, stare them down and stomp them out and say, ‘not in my house, not in my house‘.

This week I feel less than gentle with some of my little first graders.  Learning sight words is one example.  I know that practicing in isolation is not the best mode for these children..because the words carry so little meaning.  However, in the context of the book it matters more.  They need  to repeat read and some will only do that in the context of my 45 minute session (ie. they do not read at home).  I find that some days I just am so impatient, short and testy.  I also feel that I try very hard not show that impatience, but it creates this horrible feeling in the pit of my stomach. I know that God can help me…I need to give even these little things to him moment to moment.  Saying quietly, ‘not in my house, not in my house’.

About ...never ending story

lifelong teacher who is semi-retired (does this sound better?) who loves God, family and laughing... who hates social injustice... who wants to write every day... who needs to exercise every day... who blog hops... who wants to live her everyday life led by her savior, Jesus Christ!

One response »

  1. The first part of this piece made me laugh. And kind of grossed me out a little. Ewww!
    The second part of this piece made me cry. What a great metaphor. So many grillos in my life! I wish you would come to Denver sometime and we could meet and talk grillos together!

Leave a Reply

