poetry is essential, i’m just sayin’ …

Standard
love to write, love to think, love to SLICE... please join our community

love to write, love to think, love to SLICE… please join our community

I love that we spend one month honoring poetry in our lives and how much it enriches and also supports us in the classroom.  I grew up pretending to dislike poetry, because I guess it felt cool to be that way…it definitely was peer pressure.  However, how many of you remember reading poetry in secret about love and such things in junior high and high school? I know that I tried my hand at many love/angst poems back then.

Today, I feel that poetry is essential in our whole curriculum, but in lower primary rhythm, rhyme and song is not negotiable.  And as an older teacher, I feel myself getting quite adamant about it lately.  One of my favorites books in kinder and first is Trucktown Truckery Rhymes by Jon Scieszka and illustrated by David Shannon.  Here is a snippet:

Three LOUD trucks.

Three LOUD trucks.

See how the zoom.

See how the zoom.

The all jumped over

the muck and goo.

They skidded and screeched

and their mufflers  ______________ (you finish… and so can they 🙂

Why do I love this so much?  We can compare it with another song/poem we all know.  The rhyme scheme is beautiful for my young students and of course,  I wish that I had this book for my own boy who had a natural intelligence surrounding trucks, wheels and all moving things.  I you have a child that has that loves loud screaming tires and has wheels running 24/7 in the brain, you know what I’m talking about.  The boys…they love it!  I never had enough of these kind of books until Jon Scieska came along.

Also another person is celebrating poetry this month.  Dr. Steven Layne has amped up his old poetry book, Life’s Literacy Lessons (published by the International Reading Association), with new poetry and old favorites along with short two page reflections (does that sound familiar?) This original  book I have used in countless ways teaching teachers in workshops as well as with my graduate students every year.  I can’t wait to read the latest version.   I feel blessed  to work with this amazing teacher/writer and person.  He is the best boss anyone could ever hope for.

Check out his new book on Stenhouse’s website…perfect timing that it comes out this month… it’s  a book that you’ll want in your bag of tricks.  Life’s Literacy Lessons

About ...never ending story

lifelong teacher who is semi-retired (does this sound better?) who loves God, family and laughing... who hates social injustice... who wants to write every day... who needs to exercise every day... who blog hops... who wants to live her everyday life led by her savior, Jesus Christ!

8 responses »

  1. Poetry is a passion for me. I teach it all year long but we really get going in April. I love that our poetry month is also the bursting out of spring, new life, new birth. Poetry is all about taking notice. Jon Scieska is a genius!

  2. I think teachers killed my interest in poetry in high school when they analyzed the daylights out of the poem. They didn’t let me love it for the beauty of the words. Slowly I came back to poetry as it amazed me how few words create the picture. Thanks for the resources, I will be checking it out.

  3. I just got the information about Layne’s latest book. I didn’t know you worked with him! How grand is that! I’m going to get the book now that you’ve given such a recommendation. Thanks much! FYI-I’ve had lots of fun lately writing riddles with 6 & 7 year olds, too!

Leave a Reply

