kindness

Standard

Have you ever been the beneficiary of a kind act?  Last weekend I had ordered my usual at Starbucks, a grande coffee with cream and a sumptuous breakfast sandwich.  I pulled to the window and the smiling young man at the window said, “The person ahead of you just paid for your order !”  He was incredulous, and so was I.  Then I  said, “Well do you know the person so I can thank them?”  He smiled and said, “I have no idea.”  The look on his face told me that he wasn’t at all used to people doing this kind of  charitable act in the Starbucks drive through.

How did I feel?  Glad, appreciative and curious.  First, I wanted to know if the person knows me.  I also wanted to know if something wonderful happened in their life and they just wanted to share their joy.  I wanted to know if it was  a regular thing that this person does.  Obviously , they know a secret that I also know… giving makes our heart happy.  Giving makes me want to sing.  Helping others is a contagious path.

Paying it forward is a very healthy life choice, I’m just sayin’… and I’m also thinking that, I’m definitely in the mood for a grande coffee with cream!

PS Puff, if that was you in the lane, I want you  to tell me right now!!! xo

About Judson RISE professor

lifelong teacher who is semi-retired (does this sound better?) who loves God, family and laughing... who hates social injustice... who wants to write every day... who needs to exercise every day... who blog hops... who wants to live her everyday life led by her savior, Jesus Christ!

8 responses »

  1. Our local Christian radio station encourages this, they call it the “Drive Thur difference” and have a note that can be left for the recipient. I have done this before and it was so fun. This is a good reminder to do it again. We never know how these little acts of kindness will be used in a person’s life.

  2. What a special treat for you and the giver! I’ve read about this happening, but never knew anyone who was on the receiving end. I bet that person had a smile on their face all day as they imagined your reaction.

  3. A few years ago, my daughter did this in a line. She was ten and paid it forward at a Tim Horton’s. I learned later that she started a trend that lasted ALL DAY. It was wonderful. I love things like this!

  4. Wonderful to hear; I know that Donna at Mainely Write wrote about doing this occasionally, but I’ve never known anyone that it happened to. I bet your mood kept it going forward all the day!

Leave a Reply

