home

Standard
Her new home...paradise!

Her new home…paradise!

I write a story every week, it’s called a ‘slice of life’.   Today I want to offer you a slice of pie, my mother-in-law Verlee’s  famous pie, with a tender, flaky crust and cherries bursting with flavor.  Her pie will leave you breathless and you will want more of this heavenly pie shaped and rolled in love for all who sit at her table to rest.  My mother- in- law was the best baker that I knew; she tried to teach me how to create the crust, the secret ingredient to many of her creations.  She didn’t just create pies… Mississippi Mud, Cream Puffs as light as air, roast beef dinners and glorious dinner rolls that she had learned to form from her own mother.  I never became a baker, but her lessons of living life shall never be forgotten

 

She left us a few days ago.  I am broken-hearted; a huge hole is left in all our hearts because as she kneaded and baked… she also so loved.  Tender loving her hands held mine for all the years Dave and I have been married.  Verlee loved me as a friend and a daughter.

 

In our wedding 36 years ago, Dave and I picked this famous scripture about Naomi and Ruth.  It is a story about a mother and her daughter in-law. 

 

In Ruth 1:16 it says…But Ruth replied to Naomi, “Don’t urge me to leave you or to turn back from you. Where you go I will go, and where you stay I will stay. Your people will be my people and your God my God.”  It is our story, mine and Verlee’s.  She taught me about strength when the things of this world were so hard.  She loved with a fierce love, her beloved husband Bill, all of her children, daughter-in-laws, grandchildren and great – grand- children,friends,  in-laws,  and yes… even some outlaws.  I know many of you understood how steadfast she was, how resolved she was with this message…

God loves you, no matter what you have done or where you have been, he is calling you back.

 

She whispers to me today.  She is telling me to tell you, that everything has been worth it, but relationships matter most.  And that you matter to God.

 

John 3:16 says For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten son, that who shall ever believe in him will not perish but have ever lasting life.

 

I would have never guessed that this Mother’s Day would be the last time I would celebrate with her on earth.  But I know that we will know each other and love forever in heaven… together, with all of our earthly family who has accepted this amazing gift, this gift that our wonderful God offers to each one of us. 

 

And in that day Verlee will be serving us cherry pie, cream puffs and I’m pretty sure, Kenny will have his rice pudding special, because, after all, he is her baby!

 

I will miss her greatly, I loved my precious mother in-law, Verlee. 

About Judson RISE professor

lifelong teacher who is semi-retired (does this sound better?) who loves God, family and laughing... who hates social injustice... who wants to write every day... who needs to exercise every day... who blog hops... who wants to live her everyday life led by her savior, Jesus Christ!

14 responses »

  1. My eyes are brimming, my throat feels tight, but I am smiling, too. Your writing is so full of feeling. You have been blessed to have such a wonderful person in your life. Thank you for sharing the relationship in writing, and for sharing the message her life was all about.

  2. I have tears in my eyes for your loss and for my connection. I am closer to my mother-in-law than anyone and the day I lose her will be tragic for me. I hope I can muster the courage you have shown here. As I get older and loved ones pass on, I am more and more aware of the importance of relationships. Love the pie metaphor!

  3. I’m sorry for this unexpected sadness and loss, Nancy. I too had a wonderful mother-in-law & therefore, extended family! What a blessing to have that in our lives! We just said goodbye to my husband’s sister in April & I miss her very much. This is the sweetest tribute you could write about your dear Verlee!

  4. I feel her love of you and her family through your words. For me her biggest gift was the faith story she lived and shared. That is SUCH a blessing that settles in hearts even when she is not physically present. Sending a hug and a prayer during this difficult time. I am sorry for your loss but celebrating a life well lived, too. Thank you for sharing Verlee’s story.

  5. This line, “God loves you, no matter what you have done or where you have been, he is calling you back,” gave me goosebumps, Nancy. I’ve never heard it before, but it is so profound.
    May G-d comfort you as you mourn Verlee’s loss.

  6. I am sorry for your loss. You were so blessed to have had Verlee in your life for so many years. I can imagine the holes she leaves will be very empty for awhile, but uour writing keeps her memory alive.

  7. You have made a very special woman live again with your words. I am so sorry for your loss. You were lucky to have a wonderful relationship with your mother-in-law.

  8. I’m so sorry, Nancy. My mother-in-law, also a great baker, passed away suddenly last year. I’m so grateful for the many wonderful memories of her. I’m sure your “slice of pie” is just a small piece of the memories that you’ll cherish.

  9. Nanc,

    I am so glad that you have had this wonderful relationship in your life. It sounds like you have had a great mentor for living and loving. I know you must feel the terrible loss having been so close. I hope you find a way to stay that close in the meantime. ❤

  10. professor nanc,

    What a wonderful tribute this is to your mother-in-law! Even in a time of sadness like this, you can still see the light and the beauty in this world and I’m sure she is very proud of that 🙂 Sounds like the kind of woman she was!!

    ps. We miss you in class! We’re in our first tech class and we have to start our own blog. I am thinking of starting a blog about learning to cook! I’ll keep you posted so you can check it out lol.

    xo
    Lindsay

  11. Professor Nanc,

    Wow, Verlee sounds like such a wonderful person! It’s a true blessing to have those kinds of role models in our lives. You have been so strong through everything and always seem to find a positive way to look at life. Thanks for a great class! Hopefully we cross paths again soon :).

    ❤ Julie

Leave a Reply

