just what I needed…

Standard

Sometimes I have weeks that are almost are in hyper motion and I just sit back and say, wow, did I really just

…experience hearing Steve Layne’s Balcony Keynote (I have been waiting forever),

…witness the amazing Chris Tovani engage me in a fascinating piece of literature (I went to Literacy in Motion first part of the week and then All Write),

…meet some of the incredible women that I ‘Slice’ with weekly,

… challenged again by the use of writing notebooks by Penny Kittle,

…agree with about 100% of what Carl Anderson said about Writing Workshop creating innovative thinkers,

…and be reminded again by Mary Helen and Tammy that great books always mentor us as readers, writers and thinkers

…and in the end, I heard loud and clear from Ruth Ayres and Deb Gaby  that conferring, sitting next to our children, is the ‘heartbeat of writing workshop’ !

Bookish Encouragement, by Ruth Ayres

Bookish Encouragement, by Ruth Ayres

Meeting people who you already know from their writing feels just surreal, but was very special for all of us I think.  Of course,  all of us knew Elsie (L.C.), and Linda right away because they spend hours commenting on oh so many blogs every week. Immediately I wanted to pick Bonnie’s brain about Finland’s schools.  We were all able to thank Christie for keeping track of all the March slices…what a task… and sweet Betsy who organized some of us to comment on new ‘slicers’ blogs.    I found out that Ramona traveled all the way from Seattle and had such a delightful conversation with her about her wonderful students and family. Finally, Ruth … I only have one word for this amazing person…shine.  She lights up the world with her encouragement.

Some of the All Write girls.

Some of the All Write girls.

In the middle of all of this I spent two farewell days with Emily, John and Sam.  I spent hours on the toll-way trying to drive.  Everyone in my family has now determined that this is no longer in my skill repertoire.  Actually, I’m not sure that it ever was…let’s just say I am the exact opposite of an aggressive driver and that I only like traveling in the right lane and merging is usually disastrous.  Luckily there were no major disasters except getting lost on the south side.  I was maybe still crying from  leaving sweet Sammie at the airport to fly home to Ecuador. xo nanc

There once was a girl with a strawberry curl, right in the middle of her forehead...

There once was a girl with a strawberry curl, right in the middle of her forehead…

About ...never ending story

lifelong teacher who is semi-retired (does this sound better?) who loves God, family and laughing... who hates social injustice... who wants to write every day... who needs to exercise every day... who blog hops... who wants to live her everyday life led by her savior, Jesus Christ!

12 responses »

  1. You did have an action packed week! I treasure the memory of the time we had together. I only wish it could have been longer. What a sweet Sammie! I understand how hard it is to put her on a plane.

  2. I have yet to hear a person who didn’t have an amazing experience at All Write. I think that speaks to the meaningfulness of the event! Sam is adorable…just look at those strawberry curls!

  3. Wow – what a week you had with all the highs and lows. (What a sweet, sweet darling girl!) Thanks for sharing your take-aways from All Write and about the real-life connections made with so many slicers, colleagues, and friends. My brain hurts from all the learning – I’m sure your head was spinning with learning too!

    • Nanc — my mom (Judy, who slices weekly) mentioned that you may live close to me. Then I noticed your mention of West Dundee in Elsie’s comment. Could it really be? I live in Palatine! Can you even believe it??? 🙂

  4. I am so jealous with all the slices today about All Write. Can I come next year? I’d love to meet fellow slicers and to hear great presentations about writing. Wow!

  5. What a gorgeous girl and what beautiful slicing ladies. Love the words about sitting next to our children and conferring that it is “the heartbeat of writing workshop”. Great wisdom.

  6. Starting with baseload electricity prices, rises in coal and oil costs pushed up longer-term
    prices, as expectations are that both these markets will continue to rise.
    Many wholesale suppliers require a minimum order of 200 pieces, for example, but others only require less than 10 pieces per
    order. The time you kept aside to get a new look is now almost consumed by your
    boss.

Leave a Reply

