Waiting for Princess

Standard
love to write, love to think, love to SLICE... please join our community

love to write, love to think, love to SLICE… please join our community

Waiting, not so patiently, waiting…  I know that I’m not so patient with so many things, but waiting for my saucy, rosy hummingbird, Samantha, has kind of put me over the edge.  She lives so far, she smells so sweet, milky skin so satiny smooth…almost like a Disney princess.  For Halloween her mother, my daughter thinks she would really like to be a Disney princess.  Now do two year olds really get Halloween yet?  I don’t think so, but I know that she loves to dress up…because her mother did for Halloween, all the way through her high school years and then into her teaching years.  Halloween…not my favorite holiday.  I think everyone should be mummy and be done with it.

So now I think back and remember the last costume that I sewed from a pattern was for Em when she was 4.  My husband taught Middle School back then and he had to supervise the dance.  He wanted Emily to go and he wanted her to be a cute white bunny that had pink ears.  I got the pattern stitched it up, even though it was hard for me to get through each day because Jeff was born in September.  I’m sure Davethought, “After all …what did she (being me) have to do all day.” (I had taken a leave from teaching 6th grade).    So I whipped up the outfit at record speed.  At the dance, Em asked Dave if he could bring her to the washroom.  As they were moving to the door she said, “Daddy, my hands really hurt.”  He looked down at her hands….”THEY WERE PURPLE!”  I had sewed the elastic too tightly at her wrists.   She was now a cute pink eared bunny with purple hands.   He quickly found a scissors and rescued my poor baby bunny.

So I hung up my sewing shears and neverI used my sewing machine for making clothing.  Until now… until Princess.  I thought I would give it another try.  My grandma had taught me how to sew.  She taught first that every direction needed to be followed.  She taught me also how to used a tiny instrument called a ripper.  She also talked to me about how important it was to rip when necessary.  This is what separated an excellent seamstress from a mediocre one.  In the process of getting Princess done, yes, I had to be a ripper.  Yes, I had to read the directions over and over.  And yes, whenI didn’t follow a step that required basting….I was in trouble.

It took patience.  It took a knot in my stomach.  I had to stop the process, take a break and then try again.  It is very similar to what I do every single day with my sweeties in small groups.  It is what all need to do when we are learning something new or trying again after many years of avoidance.

But next Sunday I will be able to welcome Princess and zip her up as Cinderella.  At least I hope I will be able to zip her up.  Notice in the picture I’m not letting you see the beautiful zipper work on the other side.  But patience did prevail as I hope it will while I wait… one more week for Princess Samantha.

princess

About ...never ending story

lifelong teacher who is semi-retired (does this sound better?) who loves God, family and laughing... who hates social injustice... who wants to write every day... who needs to exercise every day... who blog hops... who wants to live her everyday life led by her savior, Jesus Christ!

8 responses »

  1. It’s gorgeous!! She’s going to love it!

    Thanks for sharing this slice with us – the ‘history’ of your past sewing experiences really helped me appreciate this beautiful gown even more!

  2. She will be enchanted with her seamstress grandmother. How exciting for you to have that sweet Samantha coming! I am in awe of anyone who can sew.

  3. I remember those days of sewing costumes and clothes. Yes, the ripper is a necessary tool and skimming over those directions is a no no. The dress is beautiful and your princess will be delighted. Have a delightful visit and enjoy all those Grandma moments.

  4. Wow can you make me one? It’s gorgeous 🙂 So glad that you took up the sewing machine once again even with ghosts of the first effort.
    I know one Princess who will be stylin’
    Bonnie

Leave a Reply

