“I dood it !”

Standard

“I dood it, I dood”  I’m dreaming those words.  I’ve heard those words about a million times from my rosy haired hummingbird back for Thanksgiving at Mo Mo and Papa’s house..  So many, many things are coming back to me…it has been about 28 years ago that my own little helper sang her way through every single day.  Oh, some days she was not exactly an angelic helper…whirling dervish on steroids would be better terminology.

How did I get through it?

How do many of you get through these young years?    Most of you are working full-time, some of you with more than one sweet smile grabbing your knee caps demanding your attention, as you stand by the stove and stir yet another Kraft Mac and Cheese gourmet dinner.

You come home from school with bags in you arms.  You know it will have to wait until their little bodies are wrinkled from an extra long bath time and night-night book and love session. You love the bath the most, especially if daddy helps.   You might even squeeze in a look at the headlines on your smart phone or get a chance to check or write one last email or tweet.

Right now I gaze at Samantha.  She just flung herself into the giant Lego box exhausted after helping her mommy build a perfect house on the table.  Sam got to help with the patio placing the plants where she wanted.  Emily created a green, yellow and red house and affirmed that she was a tad OCD about the colors and organization.  I start to laugh and Em looks at me as I type….“What…I like it the way I like it.”  She always has and always will.  Sam comes walking over with a creation of her own. A Lego person with a hat of flowers.

“I dood it, I dood it.”

Exhausted Em sits besides me and says, “Now she is going to destroy my house, she always does.”  Sam begins her destruction.

Em grunts,”I just want to watch Christmas movies and look at Etsy on my phone.

Sam falls in the Lego bin…one last time.

I say, “You did it!”

Sam cries, “Help, help.”

Emily sternly replies, “Say it nicely.  

(I think… deja vu, I have been here before…many, many times.)

“Please,” Sam pleads.

Yes, goal accomplished!

Now it is time to clean all the Legos laying on the floor after the destruction.  How do you think that went?

PS I think about all of you with little ones, my heart goes out to you.  This is a magical season, may you enjoy it with your loved ones, creating those spaces for simple cuddling memories.  I feel so thankful that I get to experience a front row seat for a few more weeks.

About ...never ending story

lifelong teacher who is semi-retired (does this sound better?) who loves God, family and laughing... who hates social injustice... who wants to write every day... who needs to exercise every day... who blog hops... who wants to live her everyday life led by her savior, Jesus Christ!

8 responses »

  1. Happy to ‘hear’ all the talk, too, Nancy, and for you to have your family with you for so long. It sounds like a wonderful time. Too, I see my daughter and her husband swamped sometimes with taking time and care for their young ones, and they work too-a big challenge. One of my colleagues used to say she usually started her work after the 10 o’clock news! Thanks for sharing!

  2. This is such a sweet moment you captured! I love the dialogue! I dood it, I dood it! Ha!

    Have you been spying on me?? I mean, you so perfectly described my life with the work bag and the mac and cheese and the baths…. that IS my life with Maddie and Kate right now. Yep, it’s hard, and yep, I lose my patience. It’s really hard. Of course, as you know, I wouldn’t trade one single second of it for an “easier” life. Not a second.

    Happy holidays to you, too!!

  3. There is a reason the young have children, they have more stamina for it. 🙂 Those were the days, but I’m enjoying these days too. I love the way you described this encounter with the Legos. So happy you get a bit more time with your precious family.

  4. Nancy, I am so happy your daughter and family are home. May each day feel like a year, and each year apart feel like a day.
    Your dialog was wonderful. And you described the years with the young ones so well. My youngest in now 11, and next year my 18 year old wants to go to school in Canada.
    Hugs to you Nancy,
    xo
    Pamela

Leave a Reply

