One Word 2014

Standard
love to write, love to think, love to SLICE... please join our community

love to write, love to think, love to SLICE… please join our community

Tis the season to be ___________!

____________ Christmas!

I wanted to be, I really wanted to be MERRY.  I pretty much lost my weeks from Thanksgiving through Christmas.  I hope that I’ve learned, I hope that I have walked a bit more in the shoes of the people I serve at our Care Center every Thursday night.  I know that it is something to work at, to strive for… being MERRY in pain.

I need to back up a bit for some.  Many of you know that my daughter, grand-daughter and son-in-law have been in from their missionary post in Ecuador…it used to be called furlough…now it is called home ‘work’ or something like that (basically fundraising and touching base with churches and supporters here in the States).  It also was a chance for Dave and I to see and love all of them 24-7.  They were back and forth to Mississippi my son-in-law’s home.  Dave and I have officially been empty-nesters for 2 years so having them was a bit of an adjustment, but one that I fully embraced.

So….to make a long story short, it all started with a toothache before Thanksgiving….subsequent horrible root-canal nightmare, complete with swallowing the temporary crown, gagging and having a panic attack yet again in the dentist chair, major pain with major pain killers regime ensued (let’s just say, my advice to those of you who might need one is to go to an endodonist.  not just a regular dentist).

At the same time this was happening I had Thanksgiving for the first time in my life, a big deal for a non-cook with a toothache, my mom took a bad fall that scared us all, made three more Christmas feasts for family, caught the stomach flu (down for two more days, at least lost a couple of lbs…but you know, of course I gained them back quickly), helped Dave unscrew all our kitchen cabinets so we could give them to Habitat (remodel starting next week), made a trip to the Delta to say our tearful goodbyes to our kids (I was a bit sadder than Dave who is going next month…yeah, I get to shovel snow, now that makes my heart very MERRY, but somehow I still love this word).

And  this story is starting to feel a bit like If you Give a Mouse a Cookie.  

So I’m going to go back to this word MERRY.

I usually love Merry Christmas.  I usually love Merry New Year and Merry Valentines and Merry Martin Luther King and Merry Snow Day and Merry Kids and Merry Vacation….I love love love Merry when the sun is shining and all is right in my heart.  It seems like it’s  been an awfully long time since I’ve laughed until it hurts.  However, life is not always one big MERRY.  For the people I serve getting groceries at the Care Center, it is not.  For one of my little girls who has to go to work with her Dad every night, sleeping and trying to get her home work done as she travels there in the car it is not MERRY at all. But do you know what?  She chooses MERRY, every day when she hugs me good morning; she chooses MERRY.

And  somehow I believe that I can live with this spirit of MERRY.  I can wake each morning grateful and MERRY.  MERRY can be how I greet and teach in my very last year.  MERRY can be the way I look at a keyboard that sometimes refuses to be creative, like I like.  MERRY can be a way I approach physical pain…emotional pain… that is harder for me, but with my God walking with me, my life of a spinning Merry-go-Round can be just that… sometimes I’m dizzy, but still MERRY.

I love this quote by Shakespeare…

Our stern alarums changed to MERRY meetings,

Our dreadful marches to delightful measures.

MERRY, MERRY  my slicing friends.

About Judson RISE professor

lifelong teacher who is semi-retired (does this sound better?) who loves God, family and laughing... who hates social injustice... who wants to write every day... who needs to exercise every day... who blog hops... who wants to live her everyday life led by her savior, Jesus Christ!

11 responses »

    • Holy cow! Sounds like you have had quite a month! Hoping things are on the upswing now! I’m reading a book you might enjoy, “ONE THOUSAND GIFTS” by Ann Voskamp. It seems like it would fit perfectly with your MERRY theme!

  1. Oh my Nanc, you’ve been through so much in such a short time. Merry will be a good word to keep in your heart and mind when circumstances are not so merry and bright. I hope you are feeling better by now. Will you get to go with Dave next year? I could use some of that warmth right now. 🙂

  2. This post speaks about your character. You have had very un-merry times in the last couple of months, but still you choose to be merry. You choose to walk beside God. I have no doubt, He will give you many merry moments during this last year of teaching. Your “merriness” will leave a lasting impact on those who lives you touch. Merry New Year to you!

  3. Merry, perfect word for you! Hope 2014 brings a lot of merry to you, and that choosing to be merry will help you through the not so merry, which seems to find us every year, too. God bless you and your family in your love and service.

  4. You circled around to merry, even though there is un-merriness in some of the things you mention. How nice it must be to have the kids back, though – lots of merriness there!

  5. And a very MERRY day to you! Even through all the pain and good-bys, you still remain merry. Yes, God does seem to always be there to help our lives be merry. Hope you don’t have to shovel too much snow when Dave’s gone.

Leave a Reply

