legacy

Standard
love to write, love to think, love to SLICE... please join our community

love to write, love to think, love to SLICE… please join our community

On Wednesday night at our church, we have worship music and then can choose classes to attend or sit in the auditorium for a message.  Last week Dave surprised me and said that he wanted to try a class.  It was called Leaving a Legacy for your Grandchildren.  I smiled inside, because or the word Grandchildren.  Our church has never offered a class before for Grandparents.  I smiled because, I still can’t believe I’m old enough for a grandchild…but I am.  I smiled because Dave was so eager, generally he will choose classes on social justice, but lately, one beautiful grand-daughter consumes him.  We both desire to leave a legacy, a legacy of love to sweet Sam.

So off we went.  This couple, who I have listened to on the radio in Chicagoland for many years, was leading the class.  They said, to all of us, that they wanted to learn from us as they felt that they were relatively new grandparents themselves.   First they described the different styles of grand- parenting.  They acknowledged that you can still be a ‘hands on grandparent’, even if you live miles away from them.  Whew, that was a sign of relief for me!

Then they started talking about this legacy stuff.  The importance of time…the importance of having a plan and then DRUMROLL, the importance of STORY!  I could feel goosebumps beginning to develop.  I could feel Dave’s eyes moisten. Why you might ask?  Well, my eyes also filled with tears.  We both happen to be storytellers by nature.  Why the tears?  Dave’s mother began telling Emily and Jeff the stories of the their families when they were very small.  She used it to build connections that will live on forever in the lives of both of my children.  Kelly who came to live with us in high school, also has heard many stories of her life also.  We all loved to listen, and oh, how she loved to tell.  Today she is in heaven; and somehow I know she loves that I’m writing this today.

She has left a legacy of love for her family.

Those of you who are crazy enough with your little ones, I admire your tenacity.  Writing your stories each week on the ‘slice’ is a  testimony to your love of story, and it most definitely is evidence of your love of the people in your life.  Sometimes they are stories that are hard to tell but sometimes they are joyous or delicious, especially (when you write about food).  You will be building your legacy, one word-one sentence-one paragraph at a time.

Thank you all so much for sharing your love with me.

PS         I haven’t written one in a long time.  Emily called the other day, all excited.  “Guess, what, Dad?  Sammie is on this new kick… she wants us to tell her stories about Fat Henry, he was their first cat.”

PSS     Yep, I think she is about the smartest 2-year-old in the universe.  Now that is a statement of a Grandma for sure! xo nanc

sam and horse

About ...never ending story

lifelong teacher who is semi-retired (does this sound better?) who loves God, family and laughing... who hates social injustice... who wants to write every day... who needs to exercise every day... who blog hops... who wants to live her everyday life led by her savior, Jesus Christ!

8 responses »

  1. Stories are a powerful legacy! I wish I had known this when my son was a boy. You are a storyteller! What a sweet Sammie! I see your smile in that picture.

  2. Wow, this Slice filled MY eyes with tears! I slice so much about Maddie and Katie, and you just solidified my belief that I should keep doing so! Thank you!
    Also, you’re just the sweetest grandparents ever. You really are. Sam is lucky lucky lucky.

  3. Smart and cute, too, Nancy! I tell stories to my grandchildren all the time, and now with Carter older, I’m sending him a postcard every week with a little message, sometimes a story, sometimes a connection to the card that we both know about. We started taking him on trips when he was about 4, ended up going to the Oregon coast, & then Florida in those final trips with Arvie. I am so happy we have those memories, & Carter does too. Now,we all go to the beach each summer. This year, Ingrid will be five in April-her turn for at least an overnight adventure! I just know you’ll find stories and ways to tell them that are just right for Sammie! And, you mentioned about coming to Denver-hope it’s soon!

  4. Nanc, great slice. Yes, by writing our slices, we can share our stories with our children and grandchildren (Michelle learned a few new tidbits about my growing up years from today’s slice). A couple of years ago I came across a list of questions pertaining to happenings and feelings in our lives. Hubby and I had started to answer the questions, but life got in the way. Maybe it’s time to bring them back out and start again.

  5. You just gave me an idea what to when I go visit my nieces and their children next time; create story books with them! Perhaps by the time I have grandchildren I will as good story teller as you!

Leave a Reply

