he brings…a book

Standard

slice button this marchToday he walks with a happy step, as I greet the group.  We take the elevator down to my room as a special treat.  They all are involved in happy conversation, except for one. I notice in his hands a giant book.  He shows me proudly.  I say, “Can I take a look?”  He shakes his head smiling.  He is mute in front of the rest of the children I have gathered for the test.

This child has much difficulty with speaking and does so rarely in a group.  Next I deliver the stated directions and we try a question.  Then  I ask if I could sit near him.  He says, “I like that.”

After it’s over, he points to his book.  He wants to share it with me.  I smile and say,”Pop -ups are my favorites, thanks for letting me see…Pop-up Facts Space, a Star Studded Journey of Discovery.  I see his classroom teacher’s name inside the book.  It is one of her treasures, I know.  He is also one of her treasures and she wants him to feel like he has a piece of her classroom with him as he goes to test far away from her .  He is proudly working away.  His marks are less angry than they were on Day 1.   We have a few minutes before we go back up to their classroom.  He demonstrates how the book works, by my side.  I am in awe of this demonstration and the reading of difficult captions.  He is beginning to trust, even me…ISAT tester!

About ...never ending story

lifelong teacher who is semi-retired (does this sound better?) who loves God, family and laughing... who hates social injustice... who wants to write every day... who needs to exercise every day... who blog hops... who wants to live her everyday life led by her savior, Jesus Christ!

6 responses »

  1. This was precious to me,” He is also one of her treasures and she wants him to feel like he has a piece of her classroom with him as he goes to test far away from her.”. It makes me hope that you are shepherding this little group and noticing who they are.

  2. Kids like this shouldn’t have to go through the experience of testing. Since he does, I’m glad he has a teacher who cares enough to lend him a precious treasure and you, a proctor who cares enough to share it with him!

  3. What a great Slice today. As a fellow teacher in the middle of this testing madness, it is so comforting to see kids grabbing hold of things they love in the midst of the stress of these standardized tests. I love the line “his marks are less angry than they were on Day1”- It reminds me that these tests consume our students and that a time out with a favorite book is needed desperately on days like these.

Leave a Reply

