pretend shopping

Standard

slice button this march‘Pretend shopping’ is a term my daughter coined in our family.  Em is a girl who has always loved beautiful things…beautiful hair, make-up, clothes, interior design, magazines, good-looking movie stars and such.  In my mind I used to think…”how did we raise such a ‘material girl’?”

I’ve prided myself on being pretty easy to please.  I didn’t really ask for much growing up and I was pretty determined to save money instead of spend it throughout most of our marriage, however, that has changed a wee bit since our kids are now out of college.   Our son Jeff was determined to move to my favorite state, Colorado.  Immediately, I started researching real estate in my beloved state.  I was going to help Jeff find a place to live…and he has.  I didn’t help find the place, but I thought by ‘pretend shopping’ on-line I was discovering things that he might be interested in.  I’ve kept my on-line connections and have  had to wean myself off of the  listings.

That all changed yesterday.  After a long day of testing.  I walked in the house to a very excited Dave.

” When you’ve got time I  want to show you…I’ve been ‘pretend shopping’.”

Oh no…my instincts kick in, we just got finished with a new kitchen…what is he going to be building this time? Will it be another pond?

My guy sure knows where get me when I’m weak.

“Look at all the places I’ve been researching in Colorado.  I think we can do it.”  He even had started to research the money end of things.  I know I should have said, “Slow down a minute…have you thought about the ramifications of all this?”

But I just looked at him square in the eye and said,

“I want to  ‘pretend shop’ too!”

About ...never ending story

lifelong teacher who is semi-retired (does this sound better?) who loves God, family and laughing... who hates social injustice... who wants to write every day... who needs to exercise every day... who blog hops... who wants to live her everyday life led by her savior, Jesus Christ!

8 responses »

  1. I saw the description of your post and, as someone who dislikes shopping, decided to take a peek. It is not what I expected, and it is so much better than what I expected. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Love! The idea of ‘pretend shopping’ and how you have passed it on to your husband is fantastic! Hope that your ‘pretend shopping’ becomes a reality….Great Slice!

  3. So fun and a great idea ‘pretend shopping.’ I have one of those daughters and a husband like that, but he sometimes does more than pretend when he shops. Who knows, maybe you’ll get more than a pretend taste of your lovely Colorado.

  4. I love the term “pretend shopping”. I could pretend to pay for what I pretend to buy and my bank account would remain unchanged. However, pretend shopping can turn into real shopping and how exciting that would be. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

