have you ever…

Standard

Dreams and wishes,

Wishes and dreams,

Sometimes they work

and sometimes they don’t.

You never know how they’ll turn out

in the end.

…from Jubal’s Wish by Audrey Wood

Dreamy child would be an accurate description of me, for most of my life.  I loved staring up at the stars and singing to the moon.  I knew there was a God, from a very young age, because I could feel his touch.  Does that seem impossible?  I believed in magic, fairy tales and castles with moats and towers.  Though reading didn’t come easily to me, at first, I started to devour my picture story books and easily could place myself in the scene.  I wanted to live on Betsy’s block.  I named the ducklings and cared deeply about Stuart and all the scrapes that he would get into.  My parents would leave me alone in the big chair with my blanket and snacks, knowing that if I was immersed a story, it was “all good”.

Did I dream of being a writer back then?  It probably wasn’t a fixed dream until I read Little Women.  I longed to be Louisa May Alcott or Eleanor Estes or Madeline L’Engle.  I still do.

Here is a picture that my talented

niece drew after she read one

of my picture book drafts.

It is the new logo for my consulting business that I will be starting May 29.

Do you feel the yearning?

amy

I’m sorry that I couldn’t embed this.  Hopefully if you click the link, you can see the art!

About Judson RISE professor

lifelong teacher who is semi-retired (does this sound better?) who loves God, family and laughing... who hates social injustice... who wants to write every day... who needs to exercise every day... who blog hops... who wants to live her everyday life led by her savior, Jesus Christ!

6 responses »

Leave a Reply

