my lens is less foggy

Standard

slice button this marchHave you ever been to the eye doctor when they’ve dilated you eyes?  I’m pretty sure that they do this so that the Doc can look into your soul to see what’s up.  It is horrible after this appointment because someone has to drive you home because you are so incapacitated.  Sunglasses help, but the even the light in the waiting room is hurts and brings tears. Gradually, the medicine keeping your pupil large wears of and your vision returns.  You can breathe again.  The last few months have felt dark, and on the best of days, it’s been dim. But my vision is returning.  And I’m not talking about my eyesight.  If you have read my blog for a while you know that I have been look back at my career to look forward.  I have used writing as a tool to uncover pieces that I’ve forgotten.

One thing that I’ve noticed is the concept of ‘team’ or community.  It has been one of the tenets of my career.  I believe that in order to grow and learn to full capacity, a child need to have a relationship and trust their teacher and their classmates.  I also believe in choice…especially reading choice and writing choice, perhaps not in every part of their school day, but at the very least, for a portion of the writing and reading block.   I also believe that teachers need to have some autonomy in lesson design.  And yes…creativity is absolutely and essential characteristic of a teacher that will be able to make it over the long haul.  Creativity motivates and encourages others to try out and to learn more.

So what you might ask?  Well, I’ve realized that I can’t just exit stage left in this career.  Truthfully, I have too much that I still want to share. So, perhaps, I will not close the door on consulting or coaching.  I will hopefully continue to teach at the university.  I will substitute, but probably just in the building that I’m leaving.  I have taken a position at my church that specializes in ‘building relationships and community.’  I will travel.  I really want to see the schools in Finland and Australia.  And best of all….I will write, I will write, I will write!

My lens is clearing.

About Judson RISE professor

lifelong teacher who is semi-retired (does this sound better?) who loves God, family and laughing... who hates social injustice... who wants to write every day... who needs to exercise every day... who blog hops... who wants to live her everyday life led by her savior, Jesus Christ!

9 responses »

  1. It sounds like retirement is in your near future . . . as I too am in that place. For some reason even though it is the middle of March, I have not let my brain go to the place where kids are not a part of my everyday life . . .

  2. Here’s something that comes across in every post:
    “I have too much that I still want to share.”
    And you do! You’d make a great coach or consultant – and you would be a treasure to any teacher.

  3. What a beautiful reflection of what you are thinking and feeling today. I’m so glad you still feel that you have so much to offer — as you do! And I’m glad you’ll still be sharing that through your writing. Wow – trips to schools in Finland and Australia! Can’t wait to hear about that too!

  4. It is so important to have a vision of where you are going or want to go after retirement. It sounds like you are well on your way. You have lots to share and I can’t help but think of how lucky those who will get to benefit from your knowledge will be.

  5. I love how you pulled us into this piece by focusing on your eyes, your ‘seeing’, Nancy. I immediately thought of the song “I can see clearly now, the rain is gone…”. Beautifully said, and it’s great to hear how good you feel!

  6. As you know I am retiring this year, and reading about your journey has helped me analyze mine as well. A clear lens means so much. So does looking forward. I need to spend some time, as you have done, reflecting on what has gone before. Then I plan to, as you are, look ahead! Thanks for sharing your good thinking!

Leave a Reply

