Dear Friends,

Standard

March 17, 2014

Dear Friends,

At the risk of being a little preachy I would like to offer a bit of advice, from one who has experienced the good, bad and ugly in my lifetime.

Moments and mistakes that you’ve made in the past can surface quickly.  Quickly say to yourself, “yes, I did do that and I learned from it.”  Then quickly as thought came,  replace it by a memory that was so sweet, that you had wished you could bottle and give it to a friend.  In other words, turn it around and change your thought process.  Have you ever looped up with a group of students?  It was the best and hardest two years I have ever experienced.  I couldn’t say to myself, “well I won’t have him next year and good luck to the next one who does”  I had to work at building our relationship, taking small steps towards a healthier, more peaceful relationship.  It worked.  Those two years will always be a treasured memory.

The second thing I want to say is this…take every opportunity to learn more.  Be a learner yourself.  This very week I was asked to be out of the classroom to go to inservice that our county is offering on CCSS and integration of content areas.  I have done a ton of professional reading on this subject and after all, I am retiring.  I shouldn’t care,  some would say.  I do however.  Even if the leader of the inservice only has one worthy and quotable statement it is worth it- it is!  Being a person that leads groups myself, I am impacted by small presenting nuances, positive or negative, they all help me grow.

I am now 58 years old…YIKES!  But my mind is 30 years old.  I want to be like my dad.  He is 88 and he has a mind of a 58-year-old.  We recently bought him a brand new Apple desktop.  He tinkers every day.  He gets to Skype easily with his great-grand-baby in Ecuador.  So, yeah, if you want a brain like Bob…keep learning and take every step to read and go to conferences –  especially if you are only two months away from retiring.

It is a mindset, I know, but if you can…approach every day as it is your last.  Don’t put off today, and say that you will enjoy it tomorrow.  When you get to be my age:) you know one very important detail…there are no future guarantees on the length of our lives… and I know you don’t want to hear it… but someday we will all be leaving a legacy.  What do you want yours to be?

Remember this is only the opinion of Nancy E. Hatcher, however, it is supported with facts and life experience.

Make it great today!  DeWanna Oliver  (miss you, come back from Florida soon) 

Sincerely and with lots of love,

Nanc xo

slice button this march

About ...never ending story

lifelong teacher who is semi-retired (does this sound better?) who loves God, family and laughing... who hates social injustice... who wants to write every day... who needs to exercise every day... who blog hops... who wants to live her everyday life led by her savior, Jesus Christ!

5 responses »

  1. I love how you say this is only your opinion and yet it’s very clear how pertinent this information is… I too would love to be like your dad in my 80s… I’m curious who your intended audience was for this letter and what was your inspiration?

  2. Your colleagues are so lucky! I know this because I taught with someone like you, up until about 5 years ago. She was trying new things right up until the day of her retirement. She is so young at heart, as is her husband. Thanks for this post, and the opportunity to remember that I need to call her and connect…

  3. I always believed that you should learn something new each day. It doesn’t have to be big and earth shattering, just new to you. It keeps the mind fresh and at my age I need that.

  4. All my years of teaching, I had students at least two years, and some of them for three, Nancy. You are so right, it’s a different way of thinking than if it was just for one year. And I loved it too. The chance to build such a close relationship is a gift! Thanks for all the rest of the advice-you are a wise woman! So happy to hear about your great dad-lucky you!

Leave a Reply

