I love lucy wannabe…

Standard

slice button this marchI was super pumped, the kind of pumped I get before a big show.  Desi was even going to be by my side kick  in this one.  We were going to be captured on the big screen and go world-wide.  And that really isn’t a lie.  Our church actually does have a global reach.  We were asked to tell a story…our stories involving ‘community’ and building relationships.  This Saturday is the big debut and Lucy, uhhh me, couldn’t be more excited.  I had written my script and Desi uhhh Dave, had written his.

Two hours before the movie making I rewrote and wondered how all of our stories could possibly link together for this.  However, I had a plan for how we would do ours…and it involved practice.  I went down to Dave’s office.  He just was staring at me…I said, “Let’s practice, it will make you feel better.”  So we practiced.

Desi doesn’t always like it when I get my Lucy crazed look about me.  I was just about ready to say,”let’s do it again”.  He interrupted me and said, “I prefer not to think about this at all.”. “Whaaat???? I said in my head, I have rehearsing this in my head for 3 days and you prefer not to think?”  But God directed me to shut my very large mouth and finish making dinner.

The silence was broken when Dave said…”my story is just ordinary.”

“Ordinary is good…many will relate to it.” I respond.

Well, at this point we were extremely nervous.  My brain was pacing, back and forth, back and forth.  I asked God for help.

He came through for both of us in the form of a gentle producer who, though she knew the stories, asked great questions.  Dave, who always gives himself time to think, does very well in this process.  So great at one point, that I had tears…because his story was extraordinary!  Besides that, he was looking pretty cute to me in his blue- striped shirt.

I on the other hand felt like Lucy and your most ADHD child in your classroom this year.  I wasn’t in control of the situation, the producer was, and that felt very  uncomfortable.  I guess the secret is out; I am a control freak.  We spent quite a long time in the process….thankfully she never raised her voice, never said CUT in a loud voice.  She was a very patient personality.

I concluded in the end by saying to this lovely producer, “now go and do cutting, cutting and cutting, I wanted to be edited, I would be content with just token line or two.

She smiled at me and said, “Oh, don’t worry, we will.”

Saturday night, I’m going to church in a wig, sunglasses and a trench coat.  The wig will be red and Desi will be speaking to me with unintelligible Latino words.

PS Probably another post is coming about this. xo

About ...never ending story

lifelong teacher who is semi-retired (does this sound better?) who loves God, family and laughing... who hates social injustice... who wants to write every day... who needs to exercise every day... who blog hops... who wants to live her everyday life led by her savior, Jesus Christ!

8 responses »

  1. Looking forward to hearing more. I had to smile as I read this. Kathy is so much like you. She likes things to be perfect. Me, on the other hand, I believe things will always turn out right.

  2. I can’t wait to hear all about it! What great description about this 🙂 I love that you got your husband involved!!!! Great Slice!

  3. Oh, so funny, at least to me, Nancy. It sounds as if you’re not sure about funny! But what a wonderful thing to capture yourselves like this. It’ll be wonderful, I’m sure. Let us know how it all turns out!

  4. I just loved the way you compared your debut to an I Love Lucy episode with you as Lucy and your husband as Desi. That was so creative! I used to watch that show with my mom.

    I hope the church service goes wonderfully tonight and that you are pleased with your producer’s editing job. I’m sure it will be fantastic and that people will be encouraged by your story. Can’t wait to read an update! =)

Leave a Reply

