hi, I’m …

Standard

slice button this marchI may have told you before.  I’m not so loyal to people when I get my hair cut.  I am more loyal to my schedule and I definitely have a hard time scheduling a haircut, getting a hair cut or even sitting in a chair for very long.  I would prefer to sit and wait for the next stylist than to plan.

Today that might have changed.

Laura and I were getting to the salon at the same time.  It was pretty early in the morning, with snow on the ground.  I logically inferred that most wouldn’t be thinking about hair on a day like this.  She greeted me warmly and I wondered if she was the greeter or the cutter.  She was the cutter.  I wonder if I should try layers again.  I feel bored and need a change, but a too drastic change would absolutely FREAK ME OUT!  I just decided to ask how she felt she did with layers.  She responded very confidently, but then asked a question I didn’t know the answer to, “Do you want just face framing or all over layers.  I looked confused, and said, “I’m not great with my hair, especially in the back.”  What do you think.  Again, very confidently she responded, ” I think we should do the face framing, dry it and then you can see if you want more and I like cutting even after hair is dried.”  Sounds great, I said.

This girl was obviously a second language learner with beautiful curly hair and a smile that dazzled.  She was curious about me and I was very curious about her.  She wondered if I had been in before, I told her lots of times, but the story about me not being very loyal.  I told her that my husband was the opposite of me and he always went to a specific stylist.  She smiled and said Dave’s stylist was her favorite friend at the shop.

The conversation grew into a discussion of family and education.  I told her about my daughter being a missionary in Ecuador.  She asked how she the language difference.  I responded by saying she was learning and it is better being immersed daily.  She smiled and told me that her first language was Spanish, but she had worked hard in high school to learn English.  Her parents moved her back to Mexico for a while and when she came back to the states, it was hard again, causing her to drop out of high school and enroll in beauty school.  Suddenly, in the middle of beauty school, she decided that she wanted her degree and went back to high school and she said, “I finished!” very proudly.  I was proud of her too and said, “Well, you are a very lucky girl to have two degrees…one from beauty school and one from high school.  She bent down low, “I’m going to college to become a nurse now.”

A success…a great haircut for me… and an example of a hard-working bi-lingual student that continues to move forward in her aspirations to better herself and help others.

I have just become a very loyal customer.

About Judson RISE professor

lifelong teacher who is semi-retired (does this sound better?) who loves God, family and laughing... who hates social injustice... who wants to write every day... who needs to exercise every day... who blog hops... who wants to live her everyday life led by her savior, Jesus Christ!

9 responses »

  1. You had me, too, thinking it was a haircut nightmare. How sweet that you met this girl and want to support her in her continued success. Making connections, building relationships, changing lives.

  2. I was intrigued. There is another person like me; does not want to fuzz with her hair, but wants a great haircut. Does not care who cuts as long as the cut is great! Then your story became even more meaningful with the bilingual connection! Beautiful!

  3. I enjoyed reading this post! I have always been a pretty disloyal beauty salon customer, too, until I had a somewhat similar experience this past August with a hair stylist and have been going to the same girl ever since.

    I bet that girl will love it if you revisit the next time you need a haircut. It would be neat to follow her along her journey in nursing school. 🙂 I’m sure you were an encouragement to her, asking questions about her family and wanting to know about her.

Leave a Reply

