really?

Standard

I’ve been waiting to get away, just with Dave, for quite a while.  We were off to a great driving start and made it to the destination.  The sun was shining and we were able to have the good car talk that I have learned to crave.  It is undivided attention and for some reason we are able to listen to each other carefully and weigh our words more thoughtfully as we drive.  Dave drove until lunch and after I picked up the pace.  This is our pattern.  We need continuing talk when he drives because he has a tendency to be lulled into falling asleep on the open road.  My eyes need to fix on his because it can happen at really any moment.  I am also used to when I drive, the radio is my biggest companion.  He promptly takes out his book, reads and then falls asleep because he is comfortable in the fact that I am way too tense a driver to fall asleep.

Today was different however.  He tried to read to get drowsy, but the sleep didn’t come.  He said that he wasn’t feeling so great, that he had a funny pain in his lower stomach.

We got to our destination.  I thought sleep would help.  It really didn’t.  I thought maybe, food poisoning? No other symptoms except for the lower abdominal pain.  It is pretty mysterious, because he still wants to eat, still wants his coffee.

So of course I start googling.  I leave a medical 24 hour clinic on my computer as I turn the lights off on Day #2.  This morning we eat, walk around.  Maybe he should call his Dr. from home.  He grimaces and says, “no, I think maybe I feel better.”

I wait…I type…

 

About ...never ending story

lifelong teacher who is semi-retired (does this sound better?) who loves God, family and laughing... who hates social injustice... who wants to write every day... who needs to exercise every day... who blog hops... who wants to live her everyday life led by her savior, Jesus Christ!

7 responses »

  1. Road trip! Great to read this Nanc, just before I set out on one but I only have 4+ hours. I do have a good friend riding along and we will be talking 🙂 Where did you go?

  2. Feeling out of sorts is hard enough at home, but away from home, it is miserable. I hope you can solve the mystery of the ailment soon and still have time for the fun you planned.

Leave a Reply

