limping my way the last few days

Standard

slice button this marchHey Slicers,

I knew that I should have been more prepared, had more slices and drafts.  It is coming back to haunt me.  Remember I was trying to get fifteen ready when Dave was in Ecuador?  I created only 10 ahead.  It has turned out that I’ve needed all of them because I interviewed for a new job which chopped up a bunch of days. I  got a new job which involved extra hours beyond my days at school.  Now I am on vacation and though my husband promised me time to work, he didn’t tell me that he would get sick in the middle of the trip and we’d spend a day at the ER.  Not that I blame him for getting sick, but I have a tendency to match get ‘sick’ with worry as well

Some of you might be saying…well Nanc, “Cry me a river.”  That is the challenge; working through it all when we don’t have anything more to write, anything more to give.

Well, this is a pretty disjointed narrative, I know.  I’ve tried to follow the rules this year, but today it just seems impossible.  And I feel sulky at best.

I can turn it around.  I can be thankful.  Thankful that Dave didn’t need surgery and though it’s a serious infection we can treat it with antibiotics.  I am thankful that we can still enjoy a few more days and that we will be able to see our son in St. Louis, one of the biggest reasons we headed this way.  I am thankful that my daughter is very healthy and about to have our second grand-daughter and that even though they are far away from us…she works hard to Skype at least a couple of times a week.  I am thankful for a new job, even though it starts, right now.  I’m thankful that I will be  working with people I love  and at a church that I have loved for 35 years.  God is so good to me.

He even gave me a post…another post, when I didn’t think I had anything left to write.

 

About ...never ending story

lifelong teacher who is semi-retired (does this sound better?) who loves God, family and laughing... who hates social injustice... who wants to write every day... who needs to exercise every day... who blog hops... who wants to live her everyday life led by her savior, Jesus Christ!

7 responses »

  1. Excellent! I had such a fear of hitting that wall that I was waking up in the middle of the night and writing ideas down in my phone. I have about 10 drafts sitting, waiting for more inspiration. That is what I truly love about this challenge. I have really been able to stretch myself (and I am borderline obsessed with reading Slices everyday!) Can’t wait to see what else is in store for you the next few days!

  2. How exciting about your new job (though I’m sure it’s stressful too)! Congratulations! Hope your husband is feeling better soon…sorry to hear about the unexpected trip to the hospital. Yikes!

    I can totally relate to not feeling like you have anything left. There are so many days when I feel like I have absolutely nothing to write about. 31 days is a LOT! Glad that you are seeing Him provide abundantly in a myriad of ways.

  3. So thankful Dave is on the mend, your slice about him had me a bit worried so I sent a prayer. Hope you enjoy the rest of your trip. Many blessings to be thankful for and your turning around to acknowledge them is a good reminder to me.

  4. Oh my Nanc, you have a few slices packed in this! Another baby? And it’s a girl? Yay! Dave going to hospital? You said he wasn’t feeling well, but what happened? You came to St. Louis and son too? Job? What’s this all about? Have I missed posts that have all these details? See, you have lots to write about! Hope Dave’s doing better and you are enjoying time in St. Louis. (I would have come to meet you, if I’d known.)

  5. For a not quite a post post, this was pretty special. Nancy. Wonderful about the new grandchild, good news about your husband’s road to feeling better, and congratulations on the job. Well done!

  6. I haven’t been a very faithful reader/commenter of my old friends, partly because of my mom and partly because of trying to do my Welcome Wagon duties. Wondering if I missed something. Anxious to hear more about your new job!

Leave a Reply

